Chocolate Lover’s Chocolate Cookies – 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies…Week 5

Today’s cookie is a hybridized version of the Death by Chocolate cookie, you know, the one with loads of chocolate but only a smidge of flour.  I’m sure you’ve noticed that I will add nuts to nearly anything I can, and these cookies are no different.  I used pecans, you could certainly substitute walnuts or almonds, or all three!Now, here’s a little tip, if you want your cookie to be nice and gooey, immediately scoop and bake after mixing.  If you want your cookie to be somewhat sturdier, allow the dough to chill, then scoop and bake.  The difference is such that they seem to be two different cookies.  I intended to bake these last night, as I prefer the gooey version, but it was 9:30, and I was just pooped out.  So, my friends, I present the sturdy version, still good, just not gooey.  The gooey ones are always a big hit on the Christmas cookie tray, and the sturdy version mail fabulously. 

Chocolate Lover’s Chocolate Cookies Printable version
4 oz unsweetened chocolate squares, chopped

4 oz semi-sweet chocolate squares, chopped
1/3 cup unsalted butter
3 large eggs
1 cup light brown sugar
1/4 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt
1-12-oz package 60% cacao chocolate chips
1-6.8 oz Symphony bar with almond and toffee chips
1 lb pecans, toasted and chopped

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
Line baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.
In a saucepan over medium heat, melt the unsweetened and semi-sweet chocolate together with the butter. Stir until smooth and set aside to cool.
Beat the eggs and brown sugar together for 3-4 minutes. Add cooled chocolate mixture.
Mix in the chocolate chips, chopped Symphony bar, and pecans.
Whisk the flour, baking powder and salt together in a small bowl; add to the chocolate mixture.
With a cookie scoop, portion cookie dough onto prepared baking sheet.
Bake for 11-13 minutes.
Allow to cool on pan for 1-2 minutes, then remove to a rack to cool completely.

The pictures below are of the cookies I made for Andrew’s class party.  Click here for the sugar cookie and glace icing recipes.

 
I’ve included pictures of Andrew in his costume for Storybook Character Day.  He’s dressed as Flint Lockwood from Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs; the sock monkey is a stand-in for Steve the Monkey. 

14 thoughts on “Chocolate Lover’s Chocolate Cookies – 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies…Week 5

  1. Love, love, love your cookies and love Andrew too, he is such a cutie pie!

    If I haven't mentioned it already thanks so much for your thoughts, prayers, and comments about my mom. She's doing a bit better now but still struggling to recover ::sigh::

  2. Andrew looks so cute! And your chocolate cookies are a chocoholic's dream! The candy corn cookies are cute too – I bet the kids loved them!

  3. I'd be real happy with those chocolate cookies and a glass of vanilla soymilk sitting on my couch watching the foodnetwork channel! And the candy corn cookies are adorable! they are so perfect… I'm jealous, my Halloween cookies were only allowed to be seen by Mr.Y and my toddler…yeah, they were that bad! lol Great job!

  4. I am definitely a chocolate-lover so these cookies are right up my alley! Love the Symphony in there too! Andrew is such a cutie, I hope you guys have a safe and happy Halloween!

  5. Geez…Andrew is such a cutie! Wasn't he just in diapers? Time flies…
    Love the candy corn cookies!! Made my first pot of gumbo of the season tonight…that's how I know it's finally getting to be fall around here!!

  6. Andrew is too adorable Louanne! I love when you post pics of him, he's so cute! (Don't tell him I said that, it will probably embarrass him). I love when candy bars are mixed into batter too. Even if it's a candy bar we don't get in Canada, lol. Your cookies look absolutely delicious and I'm so impressed with the candy corn ones. You are very talented for sure!

  7. YUMMMMMieeeeeeee! LoVe the looks and description of these cookies! There is always something so appealing to me about having candy bars mixed into the batter….hooray for Symphony Bars!

    Happy Halloween!
    ~avril 🙂

Leave a Reply

