Spinach Balls

Sunday night of the “Halloween Doberge Cake Sunday”, I felt the need to snack on something savory, as I had been immersed in sugar nearly all day.  The only requirement was expediency, as there were baskets of laundry that looked at me tauntingly, I wanted to watch the Amazing Race, and I needed to finish my Save Room for Dessert post.  So, what to make?  Well, my immediate thought was artichoke balls, so I looked in my pantry, hoping to find a can of artichoke hearts, but nope, out of luck.  Then, I thought, spinach balls.  I knew there were 3 bags of spinach in the freezer.  So, while the microwave steamed a bag of spinach, I grated some garlic and parmesan cheese, preheated the oven, and unloaded the dishwasher.  Once steamed, I allowed the spinach to cool a bit, dumped the contents into a the bowl, and within moments I was ready to portion them out.  The mixture smelled heavenly, rich with the aroma of garlic and parmesan cheese; I quickly scooped them onto the tray, popped them into the oven, and quickly folded one basket of clothes – only 2 to go!  Once out of the oven, I allowed them to cool briefly before their photo-op and finished loading pictures for my donut post.  Twenty-minutes later, I had taken my pictures, finished folding the clothes, and settled in to watch the Amazing Race with my little spinach ball snack.

Spinach Balls Printable recipe
1 16-oz bag frozen cut leaf spinach, steamed and drained
2 tablespoons grated garlic
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1 cup Italian-flavored bread crumbs
1 egg
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup milk
Salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Grease or line a baking sheet with parchment.
Mix all ingredients together (adding more milk if necessary) until you reach a meatball-like texture. 
Scoop with a small cookie scoop and shape into balls; place balls onto prepared baking sheet.
Bake for 15-17 minutes.

Linked to Tailgating Time, and Wandering Wednesday

14 thoughts on “Spinach Balls

  1. I love these Louanne! Spinach is one of my favorite veggies – I always have a frozen bag or two on hand. I'll be making these – this week!

  2. Hi Tracy! Thank you! Aren't spinach balls the best – no guilt! 🙂

    Hey Lee Ann! Yes, so easy to just pop in while holding a lovely glass of something cool and delicious!

    Hi Martha! Thank you! I love them on a buffet before they're perfect room temp. So sorry about your mom – my prayers coming your way.

    Hello Gnoegnoe and welcome! Yes, they really are that easy. Give them a try! Love your blog, btw!

  3. Oh yum Louanne!! These sound absolutely delicious! They are perfect for the football food buffet or for any party! Adding them to my football menu hopefully for this week – still dealing with my my mother's illness, hospital, doctors, and now on to rehab ::sigh::

  4. Thanks guys!
    @Lisa – yes, me, too, so I brought the leftovers to work!

    @Katerina – LOL, thank you! I was a mixing fool!

    @Avril – yes, make them, and tell me if you liked thme!

    @Dave – hope you like 'em!

    @Andie – yes! Perfect to make ahead and bake when ready.

    @Faith – awesome idea, Faith! In fact, the recipe is really similar to my meatballs! You, my friend, are brilliant!

    @Brenda – Brett & I do the same thing! I keep telling him I'll eat the gross stuff, but he'll have to do the climbing stuff – LOL!

  5. What a great, healthy snack! I adore spinach. I LOVE Amazing Race!! I never miss it. My daughter comes over and watches it with me and we pretend we're on it and then argue over who's going to do certain tasks, lol. “No, you have to do the bungee jumping Mom, I'm afraid of heights!” Fun show!

  6. You are brilliant, Louanne! These look like really tasty snack, and I can also picture them with pasta and tomato sauce instead of meatballs for the perfect meat-free verson of spaghetti & meatballs! Bookmarking! 🙂

  7. Yum! Yum! And more YUM!!! I have yet to make Spinach Balls….your recipe may just be what I've needed to do so. 🙂

    Many Thanks!
    ~avril 🙂

Leave a Reply

