Creamy Pasta Primavera

My friend Sally asked me to come up with a pasta primavera recipe for a homecoming potluck her daughter would be attending.  Now, you may not believe this, but I’ve never made pasta primavera.  Seriously, even I don’t believe it.  I have eaten it, though, so I wasn’t going into this totally blind.  Anyway, I decided to start with my chicken alfredo recipe and go from there.  Granted, pasta primavera is more of a lighter dish, but it is fall and I thought creamy would be acceptable.  Once spring rolls around again, somebody remind me to make a more traditional version. 
So, here’s the lowdown, I used red, orange, and yellow bell peppers, 1 large stalk of broccoli, 3 carrots,1 red onion, a pound of cremini mushrooms, one zucchini, 1/3 cup of sundried tomatoes, and because I had one in the refrigerator, a jalapeno.  Oh, garlic, too, of course, lots of garlic.  I found a lot of recipes that just tossed the vegetables into the boiling pasta water, but I knew that I wanted lots of flavor, and boiling the veggies didn’t seem the way to go.  I sliced the mushrooms, minced the garlic, and julienned the remaining vegetables.  Then, I decided a quick saute in a combination of butter and olive oil would bring out their yumminess, so I sauteed them for about 8 minutes, just enough to get some caramelized bits on the bottom of the pan.  I deglazed with 1/2 cup of chicken broth and 1/2 cup Riesling.  Once the liquid evaporated, I added about 1 teaspoon of Paul Prudhomme’s Poultry Magic, because that’s what I use in my chicken alfredo.  I then added about 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup of chicken broth, brought it all to a boil, reduced the heat to a simmer, and cooked the sauce until it thickened.  I turned off the heat, added in 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese and 2 tablespoons basil chiffonade, tossed it with the fettucine and sprinkled on more Parmesan.  I brought a bowl to work, and Sally gave it a thumbs up, so yeah!

Creamy Pasta Primavera Printable recipe
1 red bell pepper, julienned
1 orange bell pepper, julienned
1 yellow bell pepper, julienned
1 large stalk of broccoli, cut into florets
3 carrots, julienned
1 red onion, sliced
1 lb cremini mushrooms, sliced
1 zucchini, julienned
1/3 cup of sundried tomatoes, julienned
1 jalapeno, seeded and julienned
2 tablespoons garlic, finely minced
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 cup heavy cream
1 1/2 cup chicken stock, divided
1/2 cup Riesling
1 teaspoon Paul Prudhomme’s Poultry Magic
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, grated +additional for serving
2 tablespoons basil chiffonade
1 lb pasta cooked and drained (I used fettucine, but I usually use farfalle when I make chicken alfredo)

In a large skillet, heat butter and olive oil until butter melts.
Add vegetables and saute for 8-10 minutes. (If you don’t have a large skillet, saute the veggies in stages)
Deglaze pan with 1/2 cup chicken stock and 1/2 cup Riesling.
Once liquid evaporates, add cream, remaining stock, and seasoning.
Bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer and cook until thickened.
Turn off heat, add Parmesan cheese and basil.
Toss with pasta, dust with additional Parmesan to serve.

Linking up to Presto Pasta Nights; this week’s host is Tigerfish.

7 thoughts on “Creamy Pasta Primavera

  1. You know it's funny, I just realized I've never made pasta primavera myself! I'll definitely have to remedy that. Yours looks wonderful, love that creamy sauce!

  2. I love pasta primavera because the dish contains so many beautiful veggies in it. I like the fact that you made it creamy. After all it's Fall and we need something more hearty and comforting.

  3. I've never made pasta primavera either and wow, yours looks amazing Louanne! I'm so impressed with the way you can just come up with recipes. It looks creamy and delicious!

Leave a Reply

