Oat and Cranberry Slice

I’ve mentioned my friend Melinda here and here.  Melinda is an awesome cook and gardener, who just happens to be Australian.  Her food is phenomenal, and I’m constantly telling her to start a blog.  I still haven’t convinced her, so until she does, I promise to share with all of you the outstanding recipes she passes along to me, which brings us to today’s post.  About 2 weeks ago, when I began my “one breakfast post weekly” plan, she shared her recipe for these delicious granola bars, or slice, as she refers to them.  The original recipe has dessicated coconut rather than the angel flake variety, but I had none in the pantry, so I reduced the amount of sugar from 2/3 to 1/2 cup and just went with the angel flake.  I did process the coconut along with a bit of flour, as some of the staff have a coconut texture issue.  I love that this is one of those quick to make and quick to bake items, and it really is perfect with a cup of tea or coffee.  Feel free to use other dried fruit, chocolate chips, or nuts.  It’s a dandy little breakfast bar!

Oat and Cranberry Slice Printable recipe
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup self-rising flour
1 cup old fashioned oats
2/3 cup dessicated coconut*
2/3 cup brown sugar*
1 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted & cooled
1 large egg
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Spray or butter an 11×7 baking pan, then line with parchment, allowing excess to hang over long side of pan.
Mix together the flours, oats, coconut, sugar, and dried cranberries. 
Beat in the butter and egg.
Spoon mixture into prepared pan.
Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown and firm to the touch.
Allow to cool before removing from pan and cutting into squares.
*If using Baker’s Angel Flake coconut, reduce sugar to 1/2 cup.
11 thoughts on “Oat and Cranberry Slice

  1. I was looking for something just like this to make today! This is definitely going on my holiday baking list. This is a delicious treat for breakfast! Or anytime.

  2. I LOVE craisins…and I'm always looking for new ways to use them!! Saving…I don't have an 11×17 baking sheet. I have a few baking items on my Christmas list b/c I want to start stepping out of my comfort zone and baking a bit more than I have been!

  3. Your pictures of these bars are incredible. They really make me want a piece, especially with all those rosy cranberries popping out of them.

  4. I wish we had cranberries here in Greece so as to make these beautiful bars, but unfortunately we don't. Except strawberries all the other berries are very difficult if impossible to find here.

Leave a Reply

