Spicy Catfish Curry

There’s this little Thai restaurant that makes some really awesome food, my particular favorite being the Spicy Catfish in a red curry sauce.  I’ve been wanting to make it for ages, but it wasn’t until Friday that I finally remembered to stop by the seafood market.  I’ve mentioned that the husband, selective eater though he is, likes curry.  I decided that instead of making the catfish in a red curry, I’d just use my basic curry recipe as a base.  Unlike my chicken curry, the catfish was cooked separately and served alongside the curry and rice.  Also, I used serrano chiles this time, so the curry was much spicier than regular; I tossed a few potatoes in, which tempered the spice again.  The husband loved it, so if you’re initial reaction to the title was ewwww, catfish curry, don’t be so quick to pass this by.    All in all, it was a delicious meal, and one wholeheartedly endorsed by the husband, who states that I could make this twice weekly!

 

Spicy Catfish Curry Printable recipe
2 large onions, diced
2 tablespoons minced garlic
1 chili pepper, seeded and diced – jalapeno or serrano (optional)
3 tablespoons light-colored oil
2 teaspoons curry powder
1 teaspoon black pepper
4 fresh basil leaves
1 lb small potatoes, halved (optional)
2 cups chicken broth
1 can coconut milk
Salt to taste
Cilantro or parsley, to garnish (optional)
Steamed basmati rice

2 lbs catfish filets
1 cup corn flour
1 cup milk
Cajun seasoning
1/2 stick unsalted butter, melted

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
Line a large, shallow, rimmed baking sheet with foil and spray with non-stick spray.
Cut fish filets in half lengthwise.
Dip filets into milk, then into corn flour and sprinkle on Cajun seasoning.
Place onto prepared baking sheet.
Drizzle melted butter onto all filets and place into 400 degree oven.
Cook until fish is golden brown and flakes easily.
While fish is cooking, prepare curry and steam rice.
Heat heat a large skillet over medium-high heat, and add the light colored oil.
Add onions, garlic, and serrano chile to oil and stir to coat.
To onion mixture, add curry powder and black pepper.
Cook over medium heat for 5-8 minutes.
Deglaze with chicken stock and bring to a boil; add potatoes if using.
Add coconut milk and fresh basil leaves and return to a boil.
Reduce heat to a simmer and cook until sauce has thickened. and potatoes are tender.
Taste for seasoning, add salt if needed.
Serve with steamed basmati rice and baked catfish filets.
If desired, sprinkle on cilantro or parsley before serving.

Today’s post is linked to Hearth and SoulTuesday Night Supper ClubTasty Tuesdays and Tempt My Tummy Tuesdays.

20 thoughts on “Spicy Catfish Curry

  1. This is one of the most interesting recipes on the Fudge Ripple Tuesday Supper Club! I think you were right-on cooking the catfish and the curry separately…the crunch from the catfish would be a really nice contrast to the creaminess of the curry. Nice!

  2. Hi Lou lou! I am just giggling at your husband, picky eater that he is..mine used to be the same, growing up as the 7th child in a new england family, the food he got was wholesome but plain. I am a spice monger, so it took a while to adjust. This recipe looks great, and as a not so fish lover, I appreciate that you kept the fish CRISPY which really helps us who are on the boarder with the seafood. Thanks for sharing on the hearth and soul hop this week! Alex@amoderatelife

  3. Hey Louanne, I just noticed something really odd when I popped back over to my blog – Your catfish recipe is showing up linked to the 12 weeks of cookies link up from last week!

  4. My heartfelt thanks to all of you for your wonderful comments.

    @Lisa, thank you! It's awesome with chicken, but I bet tilapia would be great, too.

    @Faith, many thanks! If you give Thai curry a whirl, let me know what you think.

    @Wendy, lol, I know! I went a little off the beaten Louisiana path with this one! Let me know if Michael likes it.

    @Melynda, I was hesitant to try curries at home, too, but those with coconut are so mild, if you leave out the chiles, lol, and easily adaptable to whatever you toss in.

    @Christy, ooh, I hope you give it a try, and I really hope he likes it! Let me know!

    @Katerina, yes, you're absolutely right, the house just smells wonderfully of the curry. I'm always looking for ways to get the husband to eat fish!

    @Christy, you're welcome, love Hearth'n Soul!

    @Butter, you're welcome. I bet trout would be awesome in this, Butter. Hope you enjoy it!

    @Miz Helen, fresh-caught catfish from your lake? You lucky lady! Hope you try it and love it!

    @Brenda, yes, it was YUM! There is still a piece of pumpkiin cake at work – sending it to you! 🙂

    @Reeni, you are the undisputed queen of comfort food, so I thank you for the high praise!

    @Sue, I agree, Thai curries are so yummy! I think any mild white fish would work equally as well.

  5. I get a lot of trout coming through my kitchen at this time of year. I think I'd like to try adapting this recipe for them; it looks so good. Thanks for sharing at the Hearth and Soul hop.

  6. I am sure that all these spices you used took away the intense smell of fish. It must tasted great. A completely different way of cooking fish.

  7. well, today must by my lucky day…because my selective eater husband loves catfish. i am always looking for ways to make it that isn't deepfried. this looks absolutely amazing! thank you for linking it up to tuesday night supper club!

  8. Who knew you could do more than fry or blacken catfish ;)! Just kidding…this looks FAB. I'm always looking for interesting curry dishes since we do like the flavor. Michael can be picky with curry, but think he'd like this one!

  9. We are big curry lovers around here so this would be a huge hit! I've never made a Thai-style curry though…sounds absolutely delicious with the coconut milk!

  10. I love Thai coconut curries and the spicier the better. I don't usually buy catfish but I can definitely see myself using other types of fish or chicken in this dish. Great recipe.

Leave a Reply

