White Chocolate Cherry Macaroon Bars

 As I mentioned the other day, Andrew’s school had a teacher appreciation luncheon on Thursday.  I volunteered to make soup, bread, and a dessert.  On Wednesday, I was still undecided, and as I wandered through the market after bagging some garlic, I noticed a large display of dried fruit and eagerly walked toward thinking there may be dried figs.  We make cuccidati for the holidays, so I begin looking for figs in October.  Anyway, no figs, but there were bags of dried tart cherries!  From Michigan, no less!  Every year, I order dried tart cherries in bulk, but I’ve just not gotten around to it this year, so imagine my happiness upon my serendipitous discovery, because now I knew exactly which dessert I would make, my white chocolate cherry macaroon bars.  They are a favorite on our holiday dessert table, at Thanksgiving and Christmas, so not only were they my contribution to the teacher appreciation luncheon, but they are also my cookie submission for the 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies.

White Chocolate Cherry Macaroon Bars Printable recipe
3 cups flour
1 cup unsalted butter
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
4 eggs
3/4 cup corn syrup
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup amaretto
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1 tablespoon cornstarch
2 cups almonds, sliced
2 cups white chocolate chips
1 1/2 cups dried tart cherries, coarsely chopped
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Mix together the flour, 1 cup of butter, and brown sugar until crumbly.
Press into a parchment lined and greased 13×9 baking pan.
Bake for 15 minutes.
While crust is baking prepare filling:
Beat together the eggs, corn syrup, brown sugar, granulated sugar, amaretto, melted butter, and cornstarch until well blended. 
Stir in the almonds, white chocolate chips, and the cherries.
Pour filling over hot crust.
Bake for 30 minutes.
Cool in pan for 20 minutes.
Loosen edges with a butter knife, and lift out of baking pan.
Allow to cool completely.
Melt semi-sweet chocolate chips in microwave, stirring every 30 seconds.
Drizzle melted chocolate over bars, allow chocolate to set and cut into small squares.
Enjoy!

17 thoughts on “White Chocolate Cherry Macaroon Bars

  1. wish i had a cookie to contribute! these look amazing and have all my favorite things in it..chocolate, cherries, brown sugar and amaretto…puleese..i would eat the whole pan!

  2. Oh my! Can these little treasure look any better!!!???? My mouth is watering…as I am sure everyone who had one before they took a bite! 🙂

  3. These sound like a version of a shortbread pecan pie bar. Without the pecans. Love the dried cherries. I use them a lot in my cooking. These look decadent.

  4. Your bars look wonderful and love this 12 weeks of cookies meme! I will try to play along each week. It will be so much fun searching through all these goodies when it comes time to make my cookie trays this year! Thanks Louanne 🙂

  5. My mouth dropped open when I saw your first picture – these look amazing! Don't you love finding an ingredient that you were afraid you missed out on?? Thanks for sharing these!

  6. I wish you lived closer than one state over so we could get together and cook…man, those look GOOD! I think I could manage to make these without ending up wearing batter, too ;)! Saving for holiday baking…

Leave a Reply

