Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

Today’s post is short, dear friends, as I just returned from the teacher appreciation luncheon, and I’m working on a surprise for tomorrow.  So, let’s get a move on, shall we?  I think there are as many versions of tomato basil soup as there are people who make tomato basil soup.  This is my interpretation, and I have a confession to make.  Months ago, I posted tomato orange soup, and I said that I preferred it to tomato basil, well, I have to recant, or rather amend, my statement.  I like love both of them – equally.  The teachers loved the soup, and many asked for the recipe, so I think it was a hit!  I apologize for the pitiful pictures, I should have ladled out a bowl for the picture. 

Creamy Tomato Basil Soup Printable recipe
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 large onion, diced
1-2 tablespoons garlic, finely chopped
1/8-1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1/4 cup dry white wine
1/4 cup fresh basil leaves
1/4 teaspoon dried savory
2 cups chicken broth
2 28-oz cans whole plum tomatoes
2 tablespoons sugar
3 oz cream cheese, cut into small pieces
Salt & pepper to taste
1 cup heavy cream, optional

In a large Dutch oven, heat olive oil and butter. 
Add onions, garlic, and crushed red pepper flakes.
Saute until onions are translucent and golden brown around the edges.
Deglaze with the white wine and cook until wine evaporates.
Add tomatoes, chicken stock, basil, dried savory, and sugar.
Bring to a boil, cover, reduce heat, and simmer for 20 minutes.
Turn off heat.
Puree soup with an immersion blender until smooth. (You may also use a blender; be careful and don’t pour all of the soup at once.)
Return to a low simmer and add the cream cheese, stirring until cheese melts.
Taste for salt and pepper; season as desired.
Serve with garlic-cheese bread & enjoy!

Oops, forgot to add the following:
If desired, add the heavy cream along with the cream cheese.

7 thoughts on “Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

  1. Hi Ricky – yes, you can freeze the soup. Because of the cream cheese, you might notice a little separation when you reheat it (after it's been frozen) just whisk it vigorously until smooth.

  2. I have been looking for a creamy tomato soup recipe and this one looks perfect! My son always adds basil to his soup so I am sure he is going to love this one!

  3. Oops! I'm sorry Brenda, I totally skipped that step. Yes, you're absolutely right, add the cream along with the cream cheese for a super creamy soup. And, thanks for your kind words. I love this soup – I hope you do, too!

  4. Louanne, I'm so excited to see this!!!! Tomato soup is my favourite and I've only ever made it once and it was disgusting so I've been opening a can of Campbell's. I only like creamy tomato soup though and yours fits the bill perfectly. OMG, cream cheese!! You said the heavy cream was optional, do you just add that in the same time as the cream cheese then if you want to use it? Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

