Pumpkin Cheesecake Bars

Tomorrow, there is a teacher appreciation luncheon at Andrew’s school.  I’ve volunteered to assist at the luncheon as well as make soup, bread, and dessert.  I’m making creamy tomato basil soup and cheese bread, but I’m still undecided on the dessert.  I’ve narrowed my choices to chocolate macaroon bars, pumpkin cheesecake bars, or a chocolate pound cake.  I’m leaning toward the macaroon bars or the cake, just because they seem easier to eat on the run, as well as the fact that they don’t require refrigeration.  However, to be fair, I’ve made the pumpkin cheesecake bars for my office family to help with the decision, and of course, I’m sharing the recipe with you, too, my friends!  This is one of my favorite cheesecakes, probably because pumpkin is one of my favorite pies – I love the cinnamon, of course, and the cardamom adds such a lovely depth of flavor without the burning intensity of adding too much spice.  Hope you enjoy, and please, I welcome your comments on which dessert I should make and take to the luncheon.



Pumpkin Cheesecake Bars Printable recipe
2 cups graham cracker crumbs
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
3 8-oz packages cream cheese
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 vanilla bean or 1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon cloves
1/8 teaspoon cardamom
1/8 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
3 large eggs
3/4 cup canned pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie mix)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
Melt butter and add to graham cracker crumbs; press into bottom of 11×8 baking dish.
Beat together cream cheese, granulated and brown sugar, vanilla bean paste or extract, cinnamon, cloves, cardamom, and nutmeg.
Add eggs one at a time, blending after each addition.
Reserve one cup of the batter and add pumpkin, stirring to mix well.
Pour plain batter onto crust; top plain batter with pumpkin batter.
Bake at 325 degrees for 50-60 minutes or until just set.
Cool and refrigerate for at least 3 hours.  Cut into squares to serve.
6 thoughts on “Pumpkin Cheesecake Bars

  1. These look heavenly Louanne! Sorry I'm too late to help you out – all of them sound so lovely – certainly they will love anything you bring! You are such a talented baker.

  2. Another amazing dessert recipe. Tell you what, make all three choices, send them to me so I can try them and I'll let you know which one you should make. :o) I would pick these cheesecake bars just because I LOVE cheesecake but I'm sure whichever recipe you decide to bring will be wonderful and delicious!

Leave a Reply

