Apple-smoked Bacon and Cheddar Scones

As I updated my recipe index page, I realized that I’m woefully lacking in breakfast recipes.  Granted, many of the breads can be eaten at breakfast, but I feel I need to make more of an effort to post breakfast-type recipes, so I’ve decided that Tuesday will be our breakfast food day!  My dear husband ordered me Rebecca Rather’s The Pastry Queen cookbook, and it was waiting for me when I returned from the conference, which, by the way, I am still recovering.  We arrived home at 11:30 pm on Saturday, so I only had Sunday to rest, and I was back at work yesterday.  I think the compressed air in planes suck the energy right out of you, or maybe I’m just getting old…
Anyway, the cookbook is fabulous, filled with gorgeous pictures, and I was flipping through I saw the most delectable looking scones.  Now, I love a scone, but a scone with bacon and cheese is pure, unadulterated deliciousness.  I knew I had to make them.  I stayed fairly true to the recipe as written, except I chose to use self-rising flour, along with a combination of buttermilk and cream rather than all buttermilk.  The result is a perfect scone, seriously, this is an awesome pastry.  I also chose to make these into small squares rather than the traditional triangle.  Delicious and perfect for both breakfast and brunch – hope you enjoy!

Apple-Smoked Bacon and Cheddar Scones Printable recipe
3 cups self-rising flour
1 stick unsalted butter, cut into 16 cubes
3/4 cup buttermilk
3/4 cup heavy cream
8 oz mild cheddar cheese, shredded
10 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled
4 green onions, sliced
2 teaspoons black pepper
1 egg
2 tablespoons water

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
Liberally dust a large sheet of parchment paper with all-purpose flour; set aside.
Cut butter into self-rising flour, until flour is crumbly.
Mix in shredded cheese, bacon, green onions, and black pepper.
Gently stir in the buttermilk and cream – be careful to just mix together.  If you overwork the dough, you’ll have tough scones.
Pat out dough onto prepared piece of parchment paper and cut into squares.
Lift entire piece of parchment onto a large baking sheet.
Beat egg and water together, then brush onto top of scones.
Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.
Remove from oven and serve immediately.
Recipe adapted from The Pastry Queen by Rebecca Rather.

Linked to Hearth and Soul hosted by the awesome Heather of girlichef.
Also linked to Cookbook Sundays over on Brenda’s Canadian Kitchen.
12 thoughts on “Apple-smoked Bacon and Cheddar Scones

  1. I have a recipe index page that so needs updating – I will take this as a reminder! Yours scones look so delicious -bacon and cheese yumminess! Thanks for sharing this with us at the hearth and soul hop!

  2. Lou lou! This is simply spectacular! I am so wanting one of those, or three! I am with bren, i have never had a savory scone. This is on the short list of to-dos! I also dont have a recipe index page–only a blog hop recipe page…i should make one! thanks so much for sharing on the hearth and soul hop this week! Alex@amoderatelife

  3. These look amazing! I've never made scones (shame on me!) and I've been dying to! This recipe is great, savory scones are such a great idea!

  4. An entire tray of scones.. that looks really good.

    I saw an article in The Atlantic that talked about a “Bacon Bubble” and a pending “Bacon Bust” in terms of books, recipes, restaurants, etc., think chocolate covered bacon.

    I don't think that's the case here. This looks like an appropriate use of bacon.

  5. Cheese and bacon? You're speaking my language, Louanne!! I'm saving these to make on a lazy Sunday soon…would be so good with scrambled eggs!! Do you think they would freeze ok? With just two of us, sometimes I do that for future meals!

  6. ha ha ha…love you ladies! Okay, first of all, I'm in awe that you even have a recipe index page. Everytime I sit down to make one…I get overwhelmed and slink away. And that just gets me in deeper every day. Ugh. Oh well. These scones are A. MAZE. ING. LouAnne!! I could probably eat until I ached…so flaky and bacony and cheesy perfect! Thanks also for sharing them with the hearth and soul hop =)

  7. I can't wait to see what you post every day because I know it's going to be awesome!! These are the best looking scones ever. I've only ever had sweet scones and I think I'd like these even more. I am definitely going to try these. Thanks so much for linking this up to Cookbook Sundays and yes, Heather is “asesome” isn't she? LOL!! ;o)

Leave a Reply

