Pasta Bake, aka Fauxsagna

Coming to you from Syracuse this morning!  We arrived Wednesday afternoon, checked in to the hotel, and then went to dinner at Dinosaur BBQ – really good!  The conference began yesterday, and every time I had a brief moment, I would return to the room so I could write this post, but I’d lose the internet connection.  So, let’s get going!
This is my fauxsagna version of lasaga.  Fauxsagna because I use egg noodles rather than lasagna noodles, and I adjust it’s appearance so that it looks as much like Stouffer’s as possible.  Why the appearance adjustment?  Well, Andrew used to eat my traditional lasagna, until he ate Stouffer’s at PreK.  Now, he insists that “Stouvers” is the best.  Yes, he pronounces it Stouvers; he still has an issue with fricatives.  Additionally, in both versions, my real and the faux, I use cottage cheese rather than ricotta.  I prefer the texture.  The husband prefers more pasta to cheese ratio, so if you like more cheese, please feel free to add more.

Pasta Bake aka Fauxsagna Printable recipe
1 recipe marinara
2 lbs lean ground beef
16-oz bag egg noodles
2 cups shredded mozzarella
3 cups cottage cheese
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
1/4 teaspoon salt

In a large skillet, brown ground beef until thoroughly cooked; remove from skillet.
Prepare marinara sauce as directed and add cooked ground beef to sauce; allow beef to simmer inside thhe sauce.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Butter or spray a 3 quart baking dish (if you don’t have this size, use 2 smaller baking dishes)
In a small bowl, combine the cottage cheese, Parmesan cheese, and 1/4 teaspoon salt; set aside.
Ladle 2 cups sauce into bottom of dish.
Add 1/2 bag of the uncooked noodles.
Top noodles with 1 1/2 cups of the cottage cheese mixture.
Sprinkle on half of the grated mozzarella cheese.
Repeat the meat sauce, noodle, and cottage cheese, but do not add the remaining mozzarella; instead, add 2 cups of meat sauce. 
Cover with foil and bake at 350 for 1 hour. 
Remove foil, sprinkle on remaining mozzarella cheese, and return to oven.  Bake until cheese is bubbly and melted.
Allow lasagna to rest for 15 minutes before serving.
Enjoy!

Linked to Recipe of the Week

10 thoughts on “Pasta Bake, aka Fauxsagna

  1. hilarious that you make it look like stouffers…i might try that to try and fake out my husband. he has these childhood memories that include lots of frozen cuisine! this recipe looks very good..i like the idea of trying cottage cheese instead of ricotta

  2. Fricatives? Are you a closet linguist? Sorry, I have been away for a bit…I had seriously been considering a mid life crisis…
    Anyway, Stouffers…I am sure it tastes batter than boxed food! I love to use cottage cheese as well and have never thought to use egg noodles. Looks great. I plan to make your apple cake this week. It looks so divine as does those pretzles!

  3. Joanne, yes, Dinosaur BBQ is pure awesomeness!

    Thanks Brenda! The things a mom will do to get a child to eat dinner with his parents! And, I totally agree, who cares that it's the morning, pasta is good all of the time!

    Hi Katerina! Thank you, and yes, I get some great ideas from all of you awesome bloggers!

  4. I haven't tried egg noodles but that's the good thing about blogging, you get so many great, new ideas from the bloggers. It looks so yummy, I just want to head straight to the kitchen and make it.

  5. Oh, look at all that gooey deliciousness!!! What pictures, I just want to dig right in, even though it is 7:45 in the morning, lol. Who cares!? I think it's funny you made it look like Stouffer's, lol. Kids!! :o)

Leave a Reply

