Sauteed Kale with Garlic

Short post today, dear readers, as I’m writing this on Tuesday evening; my plane leaves tomorrow, and I have yet to pack any clothes.  However, I do have the most important items – numerous food magazines, 2 books from the library, and I just downloaded 4 books onto my iPod.  So, even if I’m wearing the same clothes for 4 days straight, I’ll have something to read….
I grew up eating all types of greens – turnip, mustard, spinach, collard, even beet greens, but I had never eaten kale until a few years ago.  Not surprisingly, I love it, and of course, like nearly every leafy vegetable I eat, I sauteed the kale in extra virgin olive oil and added tons of garlic.  I tend to cook my veggies to tender-crisp, so if you like yours cooked a little softer, just extend the cooking time.  Hope you enjoy it!

Sauteed Kale with Garlic Printable recipe
3 bunches of kale
1 tablespoon garlic, finely chopped
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup water
Salt and pepper, to taste

Trim center stalk of kale leaves and wash thoroughly.  Roughly chop.
Heat the olive oil in a large skillet, add the garlic and stir until garlic softens.
Add kale, toss to combine with the olive oil and garlic.
Add water, cover and reduce heat.  Cook until kale is tender-crisp.
Add salt and pepper to taste.
Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Sauteed Kale with Garlic

  1. I love kale, but would you believe I've only had it in soups/stews and baked as chips? It sounds delicious sauteed with garlic! I hope you have a safe, fun trip!

Leave a Reply

