Smothered Chicken aka Sticky Chicken

I ran into two of my cousins, Marilyn & Susie, over the weekend.  It was one of those being in the right place right time kind of things.  We had taken my father-in-law out to lunch for his birthday, and while we were waiting in the restaurant, Marilyn & Susie walked by.  We hadn’t seen each other in ages, so it made my day to catch up with them; they are both hilarious, so we laughed alot in our brief visit.  Afterward, it got me thinking about the Sunday dinners we all shared together when we visited my Grandma Josie.  One of my favorites was her sticky chicken, so-called because of the consistency of the breading on the chicken.  Grandma Josie used bone-in chicken, so when you were eating a piece of chicken, your hands would get “sticky”  hence, sticky chicken.  I use boneless, skinless chicken breasts, but you could certainly use thighs, or to be authentic, bone-in chicken pieces.  I served this with buttered tiny yukon gold potatoes, but angel hair pasta tossed with olive and garlic is awesome as is mashed potatoes, or even a huge chunk of Italian bread to mop up the delicious sauce, which is actually my favorite thing about sticky chicken!

Sticky Chicken Printable recipe
2 lbs chicken breasts, cut into 2″ pieces
1/2 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon Cajun seasoning or a mix of salt & pepper
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons garlic, finely chopped
1/4 cup parsley, chopped
4 cups chicken broth
Season flour with Cajun seasoning.  Toss chicken pieces in the seasoned flour; shake off excess, and place pieces on a piece of wax paper.
Heat olive oil in large skillet.
Add chicken pieces and cook until golden brown on each side.  You’re just browning, not cooking thoroughly.
Remove chicken from skillet and add garlic.
Cook for 3-4 minutes, stirring constantly so garlic doesn’t burn.
Add chicken broth and parsley; bring mixture to a boil and lower to a simmer.  Cook for 20 minutes.
Return chicken pieces to skillet, bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer, cover, and cook until chicken is cooked through and sauce has thickened to your liking.  I like it somewhat thick, so I’ll leave the lid ajar and cook until sauce has reduced.
Serve with pasta, potatoes, or just a huge chunk of Italian bread to mop up the sauce!

Today’s post is linked to Hearth and Soul and Tuesday Night Supper Club
19 thoughts on “Smothered Chicken aka Sticky Chicken

  1. My mom too made something similar to this – although hers doesn't have cajun spices – I am sure that makes this all the more delicious! Thanks for linking this to the hearth and soul hop!

  2. I think that one of my favorite things about family recipes is that they can end up with cute names like Sticky Chicken. We have an old classic in our house called Ooblich Popcorn. I'm pretty sure the names make them more fun, and if not, the history does. Thanks for linking with the Hearth and Soul hop this week.

  3. i too thought it would be something with honey or molasses…but this is a surprise. this is a perfect one pot meal and i love the cajun spices–we love spicy around here! thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe with tuesday night supper club.

  4. Oh yes, using the bread to sop up the juices…that is called “knowing HOW to eat”!! This looks fabulous, Louanne…it makes me want to lick my fingers just looking at it (strange?)!! Thank you for sharing it w/ the hearth and soul hop this week!

  5. Hi Christina & thanks!

    Yes, Katerina, you are so right, so many memories are connected to meals with family.

    Thank you, Pam!

    Hi Stella! It's funny, but I ate leftovers for lunch today, and 2 people told me the same thing!

    Hey Reeni! You're a girl after my own heart!

    Hi Alex! Thank you all for hosting such an awesome blog hop!

    Melynda! Thank you and I hope you like it!

    Ooh, chicken and dumplings! I'm in total agreement, Faith! Thank you!

  6. Luanne, Oh this recipe is heaven! My mum makes a creamy chicken that is similar and it is totally comfort food for me as well! Thanks for sharing with us on the hearth and soul hop this week! Alex@amoderatelife

  7. Hey Louanne, your grandma's chicken looks so delicious. My mother actually used to make something like this when we were little. It was so good, so I would imagine that 'sticky chicken' is too (smile)!

  8. Isn't it amazing how we all connect food with beloved people and events? I have so many loving food memories from my mother's mother, my grandma. This looks like the perfect comfort food.

  9. LOL, Brenda! I know, it sounds like an Asian-inspired dish with sticky in the title…The sauce has always been my favorite aspect of sticky chicken – sometimes I'd just eat sauce with a spoon…

    Hey Andie! Awesome to see you here! And, yes, it is just like a fricassee – I love it when a post evokes a culinary memory.

  10. mmmmm this sort of reminds me of my mom's sticky gravy- which was chicken fricassee. She would cook chicken down with flour and trinity and make a thick gravy with it. I haven't eaten it in years!

  11. This is interesting Louanne as when I saw the title I assumed the sticky came from honey but lo and behold no honey, lol. I bet this is delicious, especially with that bread you suggested to mop up the sauce. Mmmmmm………..

Leave a Reply

