Chicken Gyros with Tahini Sauce

I’ve written about my fondness for Greek food in the past, here, here, and here.  However, I realized I’ve posted by chicken gyro recipe, which is weird, as it’s part of the regular menu.  Sometimes I prepare the chicken under the broiler, but my faavorite way is on the grill, which is how I prepared it last night.  A super simple marinade turns the chicken flavorful and a drizzle of tahini sauce makes it truly delicious.  Tzatziki is just as delicious, and I actually planned to make a batch, but I had no yogurt!  So, tahini sauce it was.  I served the gyros on these pitas with a salad of baby greens and tomatoes dressed with a lemony vinaigrette on the side. 


Chicken Gyros Printable recipe
Marinade
1/2 cup fresh lemon juice
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
1-2 tablespoon(s) garlic, grated
1-2 tablespoon(s) dried oregano
1 teaspoon dried savory
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
2 lbs chicken tenders

Tahini Sauce
1/2 cup tahini paste
1/2 cup water
Juice of half a lemon, or more, depending upon your tastes
1 clove garlic, grated
Salt to taste
Pita bread
Lettuce, tomato, onion, if desired

Whisk all marinade ingredients together, add chicken, tossing to coat well.  Cover and refrigerate at least 8 hours. 
Prepare tahini sauce by mixing all ingredients until well-blended; set aside.
Remove chicken from refrigerator 30-minutes before you are ready to cook. 
Preheat grill to medium-high heat.
Remove chicken from marinade and place on hot grill.  Grill for 10-15 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through, but still juicy.
Heat pitas on grill in the last few moments of cooking the chicken.
Wrap chicken in pita bread, add lettuce, tomato, and onion, if desired, and drizzle on tahini sauce.

7 thoughts on “Chicken Gyros with Tahini Sauce

  1. LOL, Brenda, I know, but your sandwich looked infinitely better!

    Thanks Katerina! I need to check your archives for some chicken recipes…

    Thanks, Sweetlife, and welcome!

    Hey Joanne! I agree, anything with tahini is GOOD!

    Hi Debbi! Thank you, I buy tahini in a big can, too, better to make more delicious things, LOL!

  2. Louanne, there's nothing with leftover chicken (LOL) if this is how you're eating it! It's funny, I never realized just how many favourite foods I've never actually made myself until I visit all these blogs. Your recipe is another example. I get these all the time out but have never made them. I love them and I bet your recipe is better than any of the take-outs!

Leave a Reply

