Cinnamon Mocha Pie with Orange-Essence Whipped Cream

Today’s post is a recipe from Christmas with Southern Living 2003. I didn’t actually make this until 12/312004.  How does she remember that so clearly, you wonder?  Well, Andrew was born in December following a pregnancy fraught will multiple complications, including gestational diabetes, which ended in an emergency c-section.  During the pregnancy, I was on insulin 3 times a day, and it was still difficult to keep my blood sugar levels normal, so in the last 2 months of the pregnancy, I ate broccoli sauteed with olive oil and garlic every-single-night!  I couldn’t stand the smell of chicken or beef, and about a million other things, as my husband will tell you, but broccoli was my friend!  My blood sugar returned to normal after Andrew’s birth, and when we got home from the hospital, I wanted something good to eat.  Let me clarify, when I say I wanted something good, I mean I wanted something over-the-top good, and let me tell you, this pie meets that criteria!  I adore all things chocolate, and with the addition of coffee and whipped cream, well, it’s a win-win! My little twist is the orange flavor added to the whipped cream; it’s certainly optional, but oh so delicious! This pie is sheer indulgence. There is no other way to describe it. Dense with fudgey chocolate flavor. Heady with the fragrance of cinnamon. Luxuriously sinful with a dollop of whipped cream that’s just kissed with a hint of orange. And, best of all, deceptively simple…enjoy!

Linked to Make it with…Mondays

Cinnamon Mocha Pie Printable recipe
1/2 cup unsalted butter
1 tablespoon instant coffee
2 oz unsweetened chocolate squares, chopped
2 oz semi-sweet chocolate squares, chopped
3 large eggs
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup flour
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1/2 recipe all butter pastry, fitted into 9″ pie pan
1 cup whipping cream
1 tablespoon orange zest, plus extra for garnish
1 tablespoons orange juice
2 tablespoons powdered sugar

Prepare pastry and place pan into freezer while you prepare the filling.
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
In a small saucepan over medium-low heat, melt butter and add instant coffee. Stir in the chopped chocolate and continue to stir until chocolate is melted and the mixture is smooth. Remove from heat, set aside, and allow to cool.
In another bowl, beat eggs and sugars until slightly frothy. Add cooled chocolate and vanilla. Stir in flour and cinnamon. Pour mixture into prepared pie shell.
Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes or until filling sets. Allow pie to cool to room temperature (the pie will cut better) and serve with whipped cream and a dusting of orange zest.

Whipped Cream with Orange Essence
Whip cream until soft peaks form.
Add 1 tablespoon zest, juice, and powdered sugar.
Continue to beat until firm peaks form.

Use immediately.
Today’s post was my Save Room for Dessert.
It is also linked to
Tasty Tuesdays
Cookbook Sundays
and Hearth ‘n Soul
 H‘nSgirlichef

 

Recipe adapted from Christmas with Southern Living 2003
20 thoughts on “Cinnamon Mocha Pie with Orange-Essence Whipped Cream

  1. Hi Butter, and thanks! Love Hearth 'n Soul!

    Hey Christy! Nine children – you are superwoman! I wish I could send you and your family a whole pie!

    Alex, thank you, and you are so right! Our children are our time-markers! Don't you just love orange and chocolate? Match made in heaven!

  2. Lu lu, isn't it amazing as mothers how we guage our lives based on pregnancies and births? I can remember those two years more clearly than any other (have two teen girls!)…as for your recipe…you had me at chocolate and orange essence…YUM! Thanks for sharing on the hearth and soul hop! Alex@amoderatelife!

  3. Having had gestational diabetes several times (9 kids) I can totally feel your pain! And this pie – a well deserved treat!!!Gosh it looks amazing – I would love a piece now. Thanks for linking to Hearth and Soul!


  4. Hello, Arnold, and welcome! Yes, you are right, decadent describes it perfectly!

    Thank you, Angie, and welcome to you, as well! It is definitely one of those desserts…I brought it to work with me to spread the wealthy, so to speak!

    Thank you, Brenda, that's very flattering! And you're so welcome – I love cookbook Sundays!

    Hi Kris – welcome to my kitchen! I agree with you wholeheartedly!

    Thank you Melynda, and welcome!

    Hi Alicia, welcome to you, as well! It was my first Tasty Tuesday link-up – awesome idea!

    Hello, April! Welcome and thank you!

    Hi Katerina, and yes, my sweet tooth was definitely satisfied!

    Hi Wendy, you can absolutely use a frozen pie crust. And thank you so much for posting about the giveaway!

    Faith! Thank you! I adore those Terry Chocolate Orange candy things, so it was my inspiration for the orange in the whipped cream!

    Hi Heather! Girl, you crack me up! You're very welcome – I totally heart Hearth 'n Soul!

    Welcome Stella, and yes, while I love me some broccoli, this pie is/was a welcome diversion! Thank you for stopping by!

    Hi Sue! I'm glad you were sitting down, too! I'll send you a slice next time I make it! 🙂

    Joanne! You are so right – as much as I love broccoli, ate it for lunch yesterday, actually – a girl cannot live on broccoli alone!

  5. I adore broccoli but I think eating it every night would give me some serious pie cravings as well! This one sounds intensely delicious. I obviously need to make it.

  6. Pretty sure the pool of drool streaming from my mouth just ruined my keyboard. Thanks 😉 LOL…sounds absolutely, sinfully delicious!! YUM! Thanks for sharing it w/ the hns hop this week, LouAnne!!! =)

  7. Wow! Where has this gorgeous pie been all my life? I love the fudgy look of that chocolate and the orange essence whipped cream sounds like the perfect topping!

  8. I'm not enough of a baker to make my own crust…could I use a pre-made one and have it come out ok? BTW…going to post a link to your giveaway on my blog tomorrow night, so come by to see it :)!!

  9. I totally understand you regarding your sugar level on pregnancy. A friend of mine had the same problem. I believe that with this sweet your sweet touth was fully satisfied.

  10. You always have the most scrumptious recipes Louanne! This looks absolutely to die for. Thank you so much for linking it to Cookbook Sundays. Have a wonderful day!

  11. Holy cow! This is so luscious (it sure looks it). It looks like one of those desserts that you want to eat on a quiet night by yourself so you can enjoy every bite of it. Angie

  12. This is my kind of food. You used the word 'indulgence', I would have used the word 'decadent'. Thanks for the recipe. Another nice recipe I have found via the hearth 'n soul blog-hop.

Leave a Reply

