Cinnamon-Sour Cream Streusel Loaf

Today’s recipe is from Christmas with Southern Living 1998.  I’ve made it many times in the past 12 years as it’s perfect anytime of the day and anytime of the year, but it’s especially delicious just from the oven on Christmas morning!   The cake is buttery, rich and moist from the sour cream, while the cinnamon streusel inside and on top of the cake provides a contrasting warm, sweet, and crunchy bite.  The only thing that has made it even better, which I didn’t think possible, is the cinnamon I found through Spices Inc.  It is the best cinnamon I have ever used – incredibly fragrant and delicious beyond compare!   
Cinnamon-Sour Cream Streusel Loaf Printable recipe
1 stick unsalted butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1 1/4 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup sour cream
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup pecans, chopped
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, divided

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Butter a 9×5 loaf pan and line with parchment so that the parchment hangs over the longside of the pan. Set aside.
Beat butter, sugar, and vanilla together until fluffy. Add egg and beat until well-mixed.
Whisk together the flour, baking powder, 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon, and salt. Add flour mixture to the butter mixture alternately with the sour cream. Beat on low speed until mixture is just blended together.
In another bowl, mix together the chopped pecans, brown sugar, granulated sugar and remaining 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon.
Spoon half of cake batter into prepared pan. Sprinkle half of streusel over cake batter and top with remaining cake batter and end with remaining streusel.
Bake at 350 degrees for 55-65 minutes, or until a tester inserted comes out clean.
Allow to cool for 15 minutes, remove from pan, and serve, although if you’re patient, unlike me or my family, and you wait for the cake to cool completely, you’ll get lovely neat slices!

Adapted from Christmas with Southern Living 1998.

31 thoughts on “Cinnamon-Sour Cream Streusel Loaf

  1. I announced the giveaway on FB. I have no clue how to leave a link to a specific update (sorry), but I did tag the both of you in the link, if that helps…thanks!! (heather dar schmitt-gonzalez)

  2. What an awesome giveaway, LouAnne!! So hard to choose…but I think the Chickens gone Wild set sounds awesome! The bakers one (already forgot the name, sheesh) is a close runner-up, though. And I do follow you =) Thanks for the chance!

  3. Oh, Oh ! Lu lu! I so want to enter this contest as I love spices! I totally want the organic spice set! 10 jars please baby! I will mention your giveaway on my thoughts on friday link love post this friday! stop by and say hi! Also, I follow your blog and do alla that stuff, but I am lucky so will only leave you one comment! Hugs! Alex@amoderatelife

  4. Ok…following here…liked you and Spices Inc on FB, and posted a link to this giveaway on my blog tonight. Going to post it on my Weekend Gourmet FB page now. Think that covers it…not sure which spice set I'd get. Likely something that has new things I'd like to try! I love high-oil Vietnamese cinnamon, though!

  5. You know how to tempt my sweet tooth! This cake looks delectable! And I love the giveaway! I'm a loyal follower and would love to have the Master Baker 10 jar spice set.

  6. Hi Louanne,

    Here I go again, here is entry #2. I posted your site on my Facebook.
    Your recipes have saved me on several occasions when I didn't know what to cook. Keep the great food coming!

    Thanks,
    Vickie

  7. OMG – your recipies are AMAZING. I am a follower already. All of the Kitchen Sink Spice Sets (10 jar sets) look good, but the When You Don't Know What Else To Get Spice Set looks like the best.

  8. I entered the contest on Spices Inc. I follow you already, and I posted both sites on my facebook page. I like the 10 jar set, (of course).

    Thanks!
    Vickie

  9. Yum. Your blog is fab. All of my best recipes come from Louanne's Kitchen! And there are too many yummy looking spices on that website, so I think I'll stick with the “When You Don't Know What Else To Get Spice Set.”

  10. I'm following you. I would absolutely love the Master Baker 10 pc set. I'll be following you on twitter when I get home from work too. My favorite thing to bake is Peanut Butter Cup Cheesecake, but I'm going to give your recipe to my hubby because he bakes too! My hubby loves to bake quick breads, yeast breads, scones, and bread machine bread. We did have fun when he first started yeast bread without knowing much about baking from scratch. I had to tell him… put your back behind your kneeding. You aren't massaging the dough!

    If I win the Master Baker's 10 piece set, it will be used by both of us and will freak him out!

  11. Hello again! This looks absolutely delicious and is going onto the must make lists…Great to connect to you on Twitter and through Foodbuzz!

  12. I'm a true cinnamon lover so me and that gorgeous streusel loaf would get along just fine! 🙂

    Thanks for hosting this giveaway! I follow you in Google. I would love to get the Organic Kitchen set!

  13. That loaf looks soooo yummy! Delish. I like the Master Baker 10 pc set, or the When You Don't Know What Else To Get 10 pc set. Thanks!

    shevilkenevil1 at aol dot com

  14. Good morning Louanne. Your cake looks fabulous! Christmas morning or any morning. I'm already a follower but I'm assuming I'm not eligible since I live in Canada. We're usually not eligible, lol. If I am though, great! I've heard Saigon cinnamon is the best, I've never had it. Have a great day!

  15. Hi Louanne, great loaf. So moist and cinnamon is may favorite spice. I do not know if I am eligible to the contest since I live in Greece, but I am already a follower of yours.

Leave a Reply

