Chocolate-Toffee-Pecan Pie Bars

Nearly every Saturday morning, Brett, Andrew, and I visit the St. Francis Animal Sanctuary thrift store.  The Sanctuary is a no-kill shelter, providing a loving environment to cats, kittens, dogs, and puppies.  It is a cause near and dear to our hearts.  Andrew has made friends with one of the cats at the thrift store, Peaches, a gray female tabby.  She is a sweetheart, and I wish we could adopt her, but with 5 indoor cats, as well as two outdoor feral cats under our care, we’re a little tapped out.  So, every Saturday we shop at the thrift store and give Peaches some love.  Last week, as I held a new friend, Otis, a young orange tabby, I browsed through some magazines, cooking magazines, of course, and I found an awesome little Nestle cookbook, in which I found the recipe for today’s post.  These are decadent and delicious treats, perfect for any occasion and superquick to throw together.  Personally, I love recipes composed of pantry staples, as you’re never more than minutes away from a sweet treat.  So, I dedicate these bars to all of the sweet cats, kittens, dogs, and puppies out there, as well as the angels that care for them.

Chocolate-Toffee-Pecan Pie Bars Printable recipe
Crust
1 1/2 cups flour
1 stick unsalted butter, softened
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt
Filling
3 large eggs
3/4 cup light corn syrup
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoon butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla
12 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 8-oz bag toffee bits
1 1/2 cup pecans, toasted and chopped
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
Butter, then line a 13×9 baking pan with parchment, so that parchment hangs over long side; set aside.
Beat together butter, brown sugar, and salt until fluffy; stir in flour.
Press crust into prepared pan and bake for 15 minutes in 350 degree oven.
While crust is baking, prepare filling.
Beat together eggs, corn syrup, both sugars, melted butter, and vanilla.  Stir in chocolate chips, toffee bits, and pecans.  Pour filling over hot crust.
Return to 350 degree oven, and bake for 30 minutes. 
Cool before removing from pan, and cut into squares.
Enjoy!
Loosely adapted from Nestle-Best-loved Cookies
7 thoughts on “Chocolate-Toffee-Pecan Pie Bars

  1. These look absolutely luscious! I don't think I could resist eating these until everyone was gone! My Mom fell in love with a cat at the SPCA – we almost had a new kitty in our house this week – and the funny thing is his name is Spicecake.

  2. Hi Brenda and thank you! These were one of my favorite treats I've made.

    Hi Alisa, and welcome! I wish I could send you one!

    Hey Joanne! Thank you, I wish we could take home all of the animals, it breaks my heart that they don't have families.
    The bars do draw you in, LOL!

    Wendy! Welcome and I'm so glad we reconnected, too! Heading over to your blog right now…

  3. I've been by here before, but I didn't click that it was you! I'm following and will link to your blog on my blog! So glad to have reconnected with you!!

  4. Oh Louanne, those look magnificent!!! I've seen a few pecan pie bars recently on various blogs but yours is my definite favourite. I just love the chocolate chips and toffee. It makes these bars extra-special in my opinion. I can't wait to make these, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

