Fleur-de-lis Cookies

Tonight is the first game of the NFL 2010 season, and who just happens to be playing?  Well, none other than the Superbowl Champion New Orleans Saints!  Oh, and the Minnesota Vikings, of course.  The last game the Saints and the Vikings played was for the NFC championship, and we know who took home that prize; tonight is going to be the game to watch! 
My husband found this Fleur-de-Lis cookie cutter for me – yes, he’s an awesome husband – and I knew that I had to make them for tonight’s game.  Instead of my usual cut-out cookie recipe, I used a CI recipe.  It’s a lovely dough to work with, easy to roll, keeps its shape, and very tasty.  Of course, because I am addicted to Fiori di Sicilia, I had to add some to the recipe – only 1/4 teaspoon.  I reduced the 2 teaspoons of vanilla to only 3/4 teaspoon.  The recipe also calls for 2 tablespoons of cream cheese along with the butter; so, if you’re unhappy with your current cut-out recipe or just want to try something new, this is a great recipe! 
Now, the decorating…I am royal icing impaired.  Seriously, I tried umpteen times to decorate cookies with royal icing, and it has always ended badly.  Until I found a recipe for glace icing, we ate naked cookies, even at Christmas.  Then, joy of joys, I found this book by Toba Garrett.  To my great delight, there is an alternative to royal icing!  It dries hard!  It tastes great!  And, the best of all, I can decorate a cookie!  Not beautifully, mind you, as I’m no artist, but I can outline and flood, and do all those other things royal icing decorators can do!  It’s so simple, seriously, just mix it up as written and you’re ready to go.  Want it thicker?  Add more powdered sugar.  Thinner?  No problem, add more milk!  You can’t fail!  If you, too, are royal icing impaired, despair no more.  Make glace icing and decorate to your heart’s desire!  Enjoy!

Fleur-de-lis Cookies Printable recipe
2 1/2 cups flour
3/4 cup superfine sugar (process regular granulated sugar in a processor for 30-60 seconds)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup unsalted butter, cut into 32 cubes
1/4 teaspoon Fiori di Sicilia
3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons cream cheese
Glace’ icing

In the bowl of a standing mixer, mix together the flour, sugar, and salt.
With the mixer on low, drop in butter cubes, one piece at a time, until mixture looks crumbly and wet.
Add in extracts and cream cheese and continue to mix until dough starts to clump around the paddle.
Remove from the bowl and divide in half.
Wrap each portion in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes or up to 3 days.
When dough is chilled enough to roll-out, preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Line baking pans with parchment paper and set aside.
Working with one portion at a time, roll out dough to a 1/4″ thickness onto a well-floured surface.
Dip cookie cutter into flour, press onto dough, and transfer cut-out to prepared baking sheet.
Bake at 375 degrees for 8-10 minutes.
Allow to cool for 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack.
Cool completely before decorating.

Glace’ Icing
1 lb powdered sugar
3/8 cup whole milk (6 tablespoons)
3/8 cup light corn syrup (6 tablespoons)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Mix sugar and milk together, then add corn syrup and extract, mixing until smooth.
At this point, it’s ready to go; however, if you want to outline your cookies, scoop a bit into a separate bowl, and add more powdered sugar until the icing is thick enought to pipe a line. 
Divide and add gel or powdered food coloring as desired.
The icing dries hard and shiny, so you’ll be able to stack your cookies once the icing is dried.  If you look at the bottom row of cookies, I moved them before they were dried and the icing cracked.  So, be patient, unlike me, and wait.

Cookie recipe adapted from Baking Illustrated, Glazed Butter Cookies.
Glace icing adapted from Creative Cookies: Delicious Decorating for Any Occasion, by Toba Garrett.

8 thoughts on “Fleur-de-lis Cookies

  1. Your cookies turned out perfect Louanne! And I bet they were fun to snack on while watching the game. Thanks so much for leaving me such a sweet comment on my about me page – it almost made me cry. xoxo

  2. Hi Brenda! Thank you, and the Saints thank you, too! I'm glad I'm not the only royal icing impaired blogger out there!

    Hey Joanne! Thank you! If the royal icing doesn't work for you, give glace icing a try.

    Thank you, Mary, for the kind comments. I do hope you visit again!

    Hi Katerina! Thank you!

    Hey Laurie! I totally understand, and yes, make some Viking themed cookies! I'm currently on the hunt for dinosaur cookie cutters. Andrew is all about dinosaurs at the moment!

  3. How very clever. Your cookies look like they were decorated by a professional. I really am in awe. I love your blog and will be back often. I hope you are having a great day. Blessings…Mary

  4. I don't know WHAT you're talking about! These are super cute!

    I've never even tried to work with royal icing before but I've heard it gives just about everyone trouble. One of these days, I'll get around to it!

  5. Louanne, you did an AMAZING job decorating your cookies! I, too, am royal icing impaired and we eat naked cookies too, lol. This sounds like the perfect recipe and I love the addition of cream cheese in the cookie batter. And okay, since I'm Canadian and have no allegiance to any American football team, I'll play along. GO SAINTS! :o)

Leave a Reply

