Just Peachy Coffee Cake

In one of my favorite cookbooks, Bakewise by Shirley Corriher, there is a recipe for one of the most delicious muffins I’ve ever baked, Sweet Pears and Crunchy, Roasted Walnut Muffins.  Moist, filled with pear and crystalized ginger, along with the delicious crunch from the walnuts, it’s the muffin to which all muffins should aspire.  The recipe calls for canned pears, something I never have on hand, and since I’m home with a little boy miserable with strep throat, a trip to the market isn’t on the agenda.  Well, necessity is the mother of invention, so after an inventory of the pantry, refrigerator, and freezer, I found fresh peaches, an orange, numerous jars of cinnamon, but no crystalized ginger, and a bag of slivered almonds.  Throughout the peach season, I had mused about baking a peach coffee cake, and now the opportunity presented itself.  Using Shirley’s recipe as the base, I created a lovely cake, filled with fresh peach flavor, a hint of orange, the comforting scent of cinnamond, and the delightful crunch of almonds.  I drizzled on an orange-scented glaze and added more almonds.  Their hint of saltiness pairs well with the sweetness of the glaze.  I love desserts that can double as breakfast or brunch items, and this certainly can.  If you have a few fresh peaches lingering about, add this to your holiday menu, it’ll be a delicious treat to share with your family and friends.

Just Peachy Coffee Cake Printable recipe
2 cups slivered almonds
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
3/4 teaspoon salt, divided
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/4 cup sugar
1 large egg
2 large egg yolks
1/2 cup oil
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup half and half
1/4 teaspoon Fiori di Sicilia
Zest of one large orange
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 cups finely chopped fresh peaches
Glaze

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Place almonds on a baking sheet, and roast until golden brown.  Remove from oven and toss with butter and 1/4 teaspoon salt.  Set aside.
Spray or butter a 9″ springform pan.  Set aside.
In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, sugar, and remaining salt.
With the mixer on low, mix in egg yolks and egg.
Stir in oil, buttermilk, half and half, Fiori di Sicilia, zest and cinnamon.
Lastly, stir in peaches and 1 cup of the almonds.
Pour into prepared pan and bake for 75-90 minutes, or until a tester inserted comes out clean.
Allow cake to cool for at least 30 minutes before removing side of pan.
Once completely cooled, drizzle on glaze and sprinkle on remaining almonds.

Glaze
5-6 tablespoons orange juice
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
2 cups powdered sugar
Heat together orange juice and butter, until butter has melted and orange juice bubbles.
Remove from heat and whisk in powdered sugar, whisking until smooth.
Enjoy!

This recipe is a loose adaptation of Shirly Corriher’s recipe for Sweet Pears and Crunchy, Roasted Walnut Muffins, which can be found in Bakewise.

14 thoughts on “Just Peachy Coffee Cake

  1. Hi Brenda! I'd love to box up a piece and send it air express to you!
    He's getting better, albeit slowly, it seems to be a resistant strep bug this time around, my poor baby.

  2. Hi Louanne, I've been without Internet access for a few days so I'm behind on all my favourite blogs. I've been running to Starbucks to use theirs! Anyway, I'm back and your coffee cake looks so yummy. I could use a piece right now, lol. Hope your little guy feels better soon!

  3. What a lovely cake. As always I love your recipes and the food you feature here. I hope you are having a great day. Blessings…Mary

  4. I actually bought a huge bag of peaches this weekend at the market. I wanted to stock up before their season ends, but now I have way more than my hubby and I can eat! This beautiful cake is the perfect answer. 🙂

  5. Thanks, Christy. He's on the mend, poor little man.
    It's one of those “man-this-is-so-good-but-I-have-to-stop-eating-this-or-I'm-not-going-to-fit-through-the-door” cakes!

  6. Hi Debbie,
    I'm sorry I forgot to add the link to Fiori di Sicilia, I usually do. I sent you an email with the link, but I'm posting it here, too. Fiori di Sicilia
    It's an extract I buy from King Arthur Flour – I LOVE it! It's hard to keep enough in the house, so when I run out this is what I use as a substitute: 1/8 teaspoon of orange & lemon extract, 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract, and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. It's not exact, but it's close.

Leave a Reply

