Tuna Salad, my way

Tuna salad – the mainstay of Friday lunch in my Catholic elementary school, whether during Lent or not.  Of course, duing the Lenten season, my family also ate tuna salad for dinner on Friday night.  I think it’s accurate to say that I’ve eaten more than my fair share of tuna salad.  My thought is that overexposure to tuna salad could have resulted in one of two ways, either a vow never to eat tuna salad as an adult, or a mission to create the best tuna salad, ever.  I, obviously, went the mission route, and created the best tuna salad, ever.  Ok, well, it’s my best.  Who am I tell you that it’s your best?  Maybe you had the same mission and you’ve created the “best tuna salad ever” of your own.  Let’s make a deal; I’m all about trying new recipes, so if you have a tuna salad recipe that’s all that, please send it to me so I can make your “best tuna salad ever.”  So, onward…
I’ve mentioned my need for textural dimension, so my recipe has a ton of crunch.  I use four large stalks of celery, two seeded jalapeno peppers, and one half of a bell pepper, red is particularly pretty, but a green bell pepper works fine, too.  I love the flavor of savory with tuna, so I use a pinch of dried savory; thyme works nearly as well.  Also, garlic powder is a must, not a lot, but a pinch.  I have tried fresh garlic, but I found the flavor too harsh.  And, finally, as my binder I use real mayonnaise along with non-fat Greek yogurt.  Use as a sandwich filling, serve with crackers, or scoop onto baby spinach leaves – all delicious and perfect in their own way. 

Tuna Salad, my way Printable recipe
5 oz light tuna packed in water, well-drained and patted dry
4 large stalks celery, diced
2 jalapeno pepper, seeded and diced
1/4 bell pepper, diced
1/8 – 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder***
1/8 – 1/4 teaspoon dried savory or thyme***
2 – 3 tablespoons real mayonnaise
2 tablespoons non-fat Greek yogurt
Black pepper, optional

Mix all ingredients together and chill for at least 2 hours. 
Serve as desired.
Enjoy and remember, send me your favorite tuna salad recipe!

***(I start with 1/8 teaspoon, but sometimes it needs more; taste and add more if necessary)

6 thoughts on “Tuna Salad, my way

  1. Hi Brenda! Thank you! I'm the same way – real mayo!

    Hey Reeni! Thank you, and I definitely want to try yours. Going to get the recipe.

  2. I have a 'best' tuna salad too! I love yours with the jalapenos and all that crunch! Looks yummy. If you want to try mine it's on my blog – I think I have a picture on my side bar of it that will take you to the recipe.

  3. Your tuna salad really does look very appetizing. I'm all for trying different tuna salad recipes as mine is just “eh”. I love that you added jalapenos and real mayonnaise. To me, tuna salad is not tuna salad without just a bit of real mayonnaise. Look great!

Leave a Reply

