Okra and Onion Saute

At the end of July, a friend of mine, Melinda, went on vacation with her family.  Kindly, she suggested that I take Andrew over to the house to swim in their pool, which is awesome btw, and she encouraged me to pick okra from her gorgeous plants.  So, on the Sunday after she and her family left, Andrew and I went over for a swim.  Afterward, I picked okra – absolutely gorgeous okra – we played a bit with the cats, and then we went home so I could prepare one of my favorite summer vegetable dishes – smothered okra.  Now, before you say “yuck, okra is slimy” give this a try.  It’s not slimy; truly, it’s not.  Please, put your preconceptions aside, and try it. 
Honestly, I hesitated to post this, because it’s so simple that it’s almost not a recipe.  All you need is okra, some diced onion, a splash of canola oil, and some salt and pepper.  Really, could it be any easier?  

Okra & Onion Saute Printable recipe
2 lbs fresh okra, sliced
1 large onion, diced
3 tablespoons canola oil
Salt and pepper to taste
In a large skillet, heat 1 tablespoon of the canola oil over medium-high heat and add the onion; cook for 5 minutes.
Add the remaining 2 tablespoons of canola oil, allowing it to heat up for 30-60 seconds.
Add the okra and stir to combine.
Continue to cook over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until okra is caramelized and tender.  If your okra is freshly picked, this won’t take very long, so watch carefully.
Taste for seasoning and serve.
Enjoy!
Today’s post is also linked to Two for Tuesdays, which is hosted by Heather of girlchef.
9 thoughts on “Okra and Onion Saute

  1. Do they still taste good when they get that big? I'm going to go crazy planting okra next year. They're as pretty as an ornamental, and produce yummy fruit. How can you beat that!?! I'm so obsessed with your recipe that I've decided to feature it in my “Best of the Blog Hop” this week.

  2. Hi Louanne! I am so GLAD you visited the two for tuesday recipe blog hop because now I get to check out your site! I am now following you, have your RSS feed as well, though I dont see your twitter button. This is quite a cool recipe for okra, which is so “scary” to some folks cause it can be slimy! Will definitely try it out 🙂 Alex@amoderatelife

  3. You all are just the nicest women ever! Thank you for the kind comments.

    Heather, I'm so glad to have found Two for Tuesdays. Can't wait until next week!

    Hey Laurie! Thank you!

    Butterpoweredbike, aren't okra plants gorgeous? Down here in Louisiana, they grow like mad, producing huge amounts, and if you miss a day, the things are as big as cow horns!

    Indie.Tea, thank you! I keep the heat pretty high and that helps with the sliminess.

    Reeni! I do love me some fried okra! I think if you liked it fried, you'd probably like this too.

    Once again, thanks for the kind comments. You all rock!

  4. I tried okra for the first time a few weeks ago! It was fried and I really liked it. Next up is to try something like this – I bet the onions add a nice flavor to it!

  5. 🙂 My mom makes her okra in a similar way…but she dries hers before cooking. Your looks great…not sticky, no need for drying. Deliciously simple 🙂

  6. I planted okra for the first time this year, and let me tell ya, I'm smitten. The leaves are gorgeous, the flowers are gorgeous, the pods are gorgeous, and I absolutely love the taste of it. Next year, I'm going to go bonkers planting okra, because I'm only harvesting 2-3 per day this year, and I want MORE. I'd love to have a whole skillet full of this recipe, although, if I were to make it, I'm pretty sure bacon grease would make it's way into the picture 😉 Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with Two for Tuesday.

  7. Smothered Okra!! Oh my amazing 😉 Seriously, sometimes the simplest recipes are the best…and most satisfying. This sounds absolutely delicious…I'm so glad you shared it with Two for Tuesdays this week =)

Leave a Reply

