Chicken and Artichoke Pasta

Last week, I received an email from a reader, Vickie, asking me to help her amp up the flavor of a chicken and artichoke pasta dish she had made.  Always up for a challenge, particularly anything recipe related, I agreed. 
Vickie sent me the recipe, as well as a picture of the dish.  I read over the recipe and began to think about what changes I should make.  First, I decided to add more seasoning, as in onion, celery, jalapeno, red bell pepper, parsley, and more green onion.  Also, while garlic was part of the original recipe, it was only used to flavor the oil and was removed after a short saute; I sauteed the garlic along with the other seasonings and did not remove it.  Additionally, rather than Creole seasoning, I used Paul Prudhomme’s blackened redfish magic seasoning (weird, I know, bu I use it on EVERYTHING).  I also substituted chicken broth for the water and added half-n-half to enrich the sauce.  Rather than pound out chicken breasts, I used thin cut breast cutlets – awesome when you’re in a rush – and cut them into 2-3″ pieces. 
I’ll admit that it doesn’t photograph well, but it is very flavorful, and I thought it was really good.  Vickie, I hope it meets your expectations, and I want to say thank you for the opportunity – I had a great time!

Chicken and Artichoke Pasta Printable recipe
2 lbs thin-sliced chicken breast cutlets, sliced into 2-3″ pieces
1 cup flour
1 1/2 teaspoons Blackened Redfish Magic, or your favorite Cajun seasoning
1 medium onion, diced
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and diced
1/4 cup red bell pepper, diced
2 tablespoons garlic, minced
4 green onions, sliced
2 stalks celery, diced
6-8 artichoke hearts, cut into 8ths
1 1/2 cups chicken broth
1 1/2 cups half-n-half
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
1 tablespoon finely chopped parsley
1 lb boiled pasta of choice

Season flour with the blackened redfish magic.
Dredge chicken pieces in seasoned flour.
Heat 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil in large skillet.
Add chicken pieces to oil, and saute on both sides until golden brown; remove from skillet and set aside.
Add remaining oil and butter to pan, along with all of the vegetables.
Saute vegetables until tender, being sure to incorporate all of the tasty bits remaining in the bottom of the skillet.
Stir in chicken broth and cream, and bring to a light bubble.
Return chicken skillet and reduce heat to a simmer, cooking until sauce has thickened.
Add lemon juice and parsley, taste for seasoning, and toss with pasta.
Serve immediately.
Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Chicken and Artichoke Pasta

  1. Hi Sara! Thank you! I was so excited to win the giveaway I forgot to come back over to reply!

    Hey Faith! Thank you, and yes I agree on finding versatile seasoning blends. I used to have tons of jars and then I realized they all tasted similarly, so I chose the one I liked the best!

    Thank you, Reeni, you're very sweet to say so. I was happy with how it turned out.

    Hello, Vickie! I'm so glad you and your husband liked it! I think shrimp would be delicious, too. Let me know when you make it and take a picture!

  2. Wow!!! It turned out great! Thank you for making a plain recipe into a great recipe! My husband liked it when it was plain, but now he loves it! He wants me to put it on his favorite list. I bet this would turn out good with shrimp too! What do you think?

  3. You did a great job of perking this up! It's incredibly seasoned and it looks absolutely delicious! I made an artichoke chicken once and it did not photograph well at all – the artichokes looked gray and sickly. I think your photos are fine.

  4. I love seasoning blends like that one that are good with everything! This looks great — what a perfect use for artichokes (which is something I really don't make often enough!).

  5. Very cool, to fix up that recipe…sounds great. Creamy stuff never photographs well. This recipe is sure to be a winner and so are you!…no I really mean you're a winner..get on over to my site and check it out!

Leave a Reply

