Creamy Curried Pumpkin Soup

Ok, so this is, by far, not one of my better photos; however, it is one of my better soups.  I love soup; I love curry, and I love pumpkin; this soup is just the natural outcome of those three loves.  When I’m stressed, tired, or just feeling bleh, my favorite comfort food is soup.  When I woke up this morning, I felt stressed, tired, and bleh, so soup it had to be; the only problem was time, as in, not enough of.  I needed something super quick, no more than 30 minutes, less, if at all possible.  Well, this soup crossed the finish line in under 30, so folks, we have a winner. 
If you’re hesitant to make this because it’s “pumpkin soup, Louanne!  I don’t like pumpkin.”  Here’s the thing, if I served this to you without telling you that it was a pumpkin-based soup, you’d never know.  It just tastes like a great big bowl of spicy and creamy goodness.  In fact, I, along with my coworkers Ann, Vickie, and Melinda, agreed that if shrimp were added to this and served over rice, we could pass this off as an etouffee and serve it to the family.  So, please, don’t be scared because it’s pumpkin.  Or, if you are still scared, live dangerously and give it a try!
Creamy Curried Pumpkin Soup Printable recipe
1 can pumpkin puree (15 oz)

2 cups chicken broth, divided
1 can coconut milk (13.5 oz)
1/4 cup of whipped Philadelphia cream cheese
2 cups diced onion
1/4 cup diced jalapeno
2 tablespoons minced garlic
3 teaspoons curry powder
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
Minced cilantro or parsley, for garnish, optional

Over medium high heat, add butter and oil to a large skillet
Once butter has melted, add onion, jalapeno and garlic; cook for 2-3 minutes
Add curry powder and continue to cook for another 2-3 minutes, stirring constantly
Add 1 cup of the chicken broth to deglaze pan
Add pumpkin puree and stir to combine
Add coconut milk and cream cheese and stir until cream cheese is blended into the soup
Add remaining 1 cup of chicken broth and bring to a boil
Lower heat to a simmer and cook for 10-15 minutes
Taste for seasoning and add salt & pepper, if desired.
With an immersion blender or in a food processor, process soup until smooth and serve.

4 thoughts on “Creamy Curried Pumpkin Soup

  1. I actually love pumpkin in soup and curry is such a nice flavor pairing with it! I love your idea of adding shrimp too…delicious!

  2. I love anything with pumpkin! Curried pumpkin just seems so right to me. This is definitely getting made at some point this Fall.

Leave a Reply

