Puff Pastry, Kouign Amann, and More Palmiers

Kouign Amann

Every year, I make a resolution to master, or at least become proficient in, a culinary process, ie, candy-making, bread-baking, that sort of thing.  Well, 2010 was the year for puff pastry, and on Saturday, I began the process.  I have not mastered the process nor would I consider myself proficient, but the puff pastry did achieve puff, and it was mighty tasty.  I made cheese palmiers, even though I just made a batch 2 weeks ago; however, that initial batch was made with store-bought puff pastry, and this batch was made with my made-from-scratch batch.  The difference is measurable, let me tell you, incredibly flaky, so buttery, and just wholesome; I impressed myself, actually. 

It’s not a difficult process, but it is a time-consuming process.  I used the entire batch, but plan to make another batch within the next week or so and freeze it for later use.  As I said, I made palmiers again, but I also made Kouign Amann or Kouing Aman (kween ah-maan) a delicious pastry from Brittany.  I had never heard of Kouign Amann until I saw this episode on The Best Thing I Ever Ate; the bakery is Les Madeleines in Salt Lake City, and as I’ve no plans to travel there anytime soon, I knew I had to make it myself.  Along with the rolling and folding process of puff pastry, sugar is incorporated in the layers, creating a delicious caramelized pastry. While the flavor was exquisite, I wasn’t overly pleased with the texture, as I’m assuming that the texture should be more flaky, but this was more bread-like. Delicious, however, just not the texture I wanted, or at least, think I should have created.  I’ve since found David Lebovitz’s recipe, and I plan to try it out, too.

I used Florian Bellanger’s recipe, which can be found here, the difference is that prior to incorporating the sugar, I halved the dough and only added sugar to one half, using the other half to make the palmiers.  When I added the sugar, I halved that as well, and I made 8 pastries, rather than 15.  I made 36 palmiers with the other half of the dough, and I used the same recipe that I posted here

8 thoughts on “Puff Pastry, Kouign Amann, and More Palmiers

  1. Cue weird music….we have, indeed, entered the Twilight Zone…
    Reeni, that's just beyond coincidental. I know you are going to make an awesome Kouign Amann, and I can't wait to see it!

  2. Hi Louanne, I had to stop by and tell you the strangest thing. My Mom just came and brought with her a postcard she came across from a trip to France with a cake on the front. She wants me to make it for her – the name of the cake? Kouign Amann! We have now entered the Twilight Zone…

  3. I, too am impressed that you made your own puff pastry! I never heard of Kouign Amann – looks scrumptious. And your pastry is so light and fluffy – like a cloud!

  4. Hey there, I found you through Reeni over at Cinnamon Spice, and I am so glad I have. I love your site! I am actually from Salt Lake City and Kouign Amann are amazing. They are light. Home made puff pastry is a huge undertaking but worth every crumb…way to go on a fabulous post. I'll be back for sure.

  5. Welcome Debbie! I've wanted to try my hand at puff pastry for so long, and I don't know why, but I woke up Saturday and decided that it was time to tackle it!

  6. Hi Pam,
    Thank you and welcome to my blog! Definitely give puff pastry a try – it's not hard, just a bit time-consuming, and it tastes incredible!

  7. It looks delicious! I've been trying puff pastry lately and I should be taking lessons from you after seeing this. Interesting with the texture, bet it's delicious anyway!

Leave a Reply

