Summer Berry Torte and Andrew’s 1st Day of Kindergarten!

I recently placed an order with King Arthur flour, and when I received it, the box contained a catalog and a recipe card for Late Summer Berry Torte.  Never one to pass an opportunity to bake with summer berries, I decided to bake it right then and there!  Luckily, I had frozen raspberries, blueberries, and blackberries in the freezer, and since I had just received my order, I had a bottle of Fiori di Sicilia, one of my most favorite essences in the world.  If you’ve never tried it, order a bottle, today.  As in, go here and order it.  You will be more than happy, I promise.
Anyway, I made the torte, and while Andrew refused any, Brett LOVED it, although the man loves nearly anything with raspberries.  The recipe as written makes a single pan, but I doubled the recipe two days later and made muffins, which were also a big hit with Brett and co-workers.
The cake is moist, cinnamon-scented, not too sweetinnamon-scented, and filled with delicious berries.  It was a lovely treat with coffee, both in the morning and in the afternoon, and with a scoop of vanilla frozen yogurt after dinner – an all-purpose, 24-7 treat, you could say!
If you choose to make muffins instead of a cake, I would decrease the berries to one cup, as I think 2 cups might make the muffins too moist.  The recipe as written will make one 9×9 cake or 12 muffins.  Click here for the recipe.
On an upclose and personal note, today was Andrew’s first day of Kindergarten.  I know everyone says it, but I can’t believe he’s old enough for “big school.”  How can he be 5 years old, when we just brought him home from the hospital yesterday? 
I’m happy to say, however, that there were no tears from either the mom or the student; in fact, he was so excited that when he saw the bus, he began waving, just in case the bus might pass him by. 
2 thoughts on “Summer Berry Torte and Andrew’s 1st Day of Kindergarten!

  1. Aw, thank you, Faith! That's sweet of you to say. He did have a wonderful time – when he got off the bus, he told us it was “awesome!”
    The berries and the cinnamon are really nice together.

  2. What a special day! I hope he has a wonderful time at school! The torte is beautiful, I love the combination of berries with a touch of cinnamon.

Leave a Reply

