Brownie Button Bites and a Sundae Brownie Bonus

The preschool/daycare that Andrew has attended since he was 18 months old offers summer camp, and it’s where he spent this summer.  Friday was Andrew’s last day of summer camp, and it was also his last day with his favorite teacher, Reina.  Andrew has been in Reina’s class since he started at the daycare; everytime he moved into the next age group, she moved up, as well.  Needless to say, he is very close to her.  Since it was his last day, he wanted to make her some cookie and some brownies, as “those are her favorites, Mom” he told me.  I thought this would be an excellent time to try out the brownie cookie recipe I had been tweaking.  Andrew agreed, and so on with the show, er, recipe.
These cookies are based on my Sicilian chocolate cookie recipe, without the addition of cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, and anise extract glaze.   Instead, I added a double dose of vanilla, chocolate morsels, as well as a large Symphony bar (toffee & almond).  It’s a dense cookie, but not gooey, although if you baked them less, they could be, gooey, that is.  I baked these for 8 1/2 minutes, and I thought the texture was perfect.  They do not spread, so if you want a flat cookie, you’ll need to press them with your hand or the bottom of a glass.  I used a small scoop, and by the time I had scooped 7 dozen, I was ready to call it quits, but there was still cookie dough!  So, I lined an 8″ cake pan with a parchment round and spread the remaining dough; I baked it for the same length of time, and it was a gooey, compared to the cookies themselves. 
Since there were so many cookies, I offered one to Brett, who said they were “alright.”  Upon seeing the look on my face, he quickly amended that thought with “well you know I’m not a big chocolate cookie fan.  Bring the rest to work.”  Which, I did, of course, and everyone thoroughly enjoyed them, especially, the sundae I made with the large flat cookie. 

Brownie Buttons Printable recipe
1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
2 (1-oz) squares unsweetened chocolate, chopped
1 stick + 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
3 cups semisweet chocolate morsels, divided
1 (4.25 oz) Symphony bar, chopped
1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 large eggs
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 cups pecans, toasted and chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Line baking pan(s) with parchment paper and set aside.
Combine butter, cocoa, unsweetened chocolate, and 1 1/2 cups chocolate morsels in a saucepan.
Cook over low heat until butter and chocolate have melted; set aside to cool.
In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt; set aside.
In a large mixing bowl, beat together sugar, eggs, and vanilla until well mixed.
Mix in flour mixture and cooled chocolate mixture to the egg mixture.
Add in the remaining chocolate morsels, the chopped Symphony bar, and the pecans.
Portion the cookie dough using a small cookie scoop onto the parchment lined baking sheet.
Bake for 8-9 minutes (I baked mine for 8 1/2 minutes)
Yield: 7 dozen small cookies and one 8″ cookie pizza.

  
3 thoughts on “Brownie Button Bites and a Sundae Brownie Bonus

  1. These sound delectable! I bet Andrew's teacher loved them. And how did you know Symphony bars are one of my favorites? Them and PB cups.

Leave a Reply

