Chicken Curry

I’ve written about the cooking workshop the library offered to patrons – here and here and here.   The workshops were responsible for my introduction to curry.  Since then, I’ve even both Indian and Thai curries, and to be honest, I love them both.  I’d be hardpressed to choose between one or the other.  Anyway, my husband, as you all know, is what I term a “selective eater” or what you may refer to as picky.  Knowing what you do, would you ever think that he likes curry?  No, neither did I.  However, the man likes curry.  My preference is more spicy than not, but he’s more of a mild curry type of guy, so I usually go easy on the heat and just add a splash of Sriracha to my dish.  Today’s post is a Thai-Indian hybrid curry; it’s not spicy at all, even with the jalapeno, so if you like heat, add a serrano or splash on a bit of Sriracha.
I served it with some basmati rice and spinach salad for the husband and brussel sprouts for me.

Chicken Curry Printable recipe
1 1/2 chicken tenders, cut into chunks
2 tablespoons sweet chili sauce
2 teaspoons fish sauce
2 large onions, diced
2 tablespoons minced garlic
1 jalapeno, small dice (seeded or not, your choice)
2-3 tablespoons canola oil
2 teaspoons curry powder
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 can coconut milk
Salt to taste
Cilantro or parsley, to garnish (optional)
Steamed basmati rice
Naan bread
Combine chicken, sweet chili and fish sauce; refrigerate 2 hours or as long as 8 hours.
When ready to cook, heat a large skillet over medium-high heat, and add 2 tablespoons canola oil.
Add onions, garlic, and jalapeno to oil and stir to coat.
To onion mixture, add curry powder and black pepper.
Cook over medium heat for 5-8 minutes.
Remove chicken from chili sauce marinade and add to onion mixture.
Contiue to cook over medium-high heat until chicken begins to turn opaque.
Add coconut milk and bring to a boil.
Reduce heat to a simmer and cook until sauce has thickened and chicken is cooked through.
Taste for seasoning, add salt if needed.
Serve with steamed basmati rice and/or naan bread.
If desired, sprinkle on cilantro or parsley before serving.
Enjoy!
4 thoughts on “Chicken Curry

  1. I love curry but have never made it as well as my mom’s. Even the restaurants don’t live up to her recipes. Probably due to her home made curry paste…But you’ve inspired me nevertheless so will try it again. My daughter likes my version.

  2. Thanks, Reeni! Andrew complains about the smell, too, so I know exactly what you mean. Come on over, I have a bowl in the freezer for you!

  3. This looks so delicious! I love curry – specially Thai curry. Noone else in my house likes it – and they hate the way it smells so I never make it. I hope you saved me a dish…

Leave a Reply

