Pumpkin Pie Bites

A few days ago, I made a galette, and I promised to take pictures of my unorthodox pastry method.  So yesterday morning, before the sun was fully shining, I made the pastry and shot some pictures of the process.  The lack of natural light is evident, but I think you’ll get the idea.  For the filling, I went with pumpkin, as even though we’re still in the throes of extreme summer heat, and will be for sometime, unfortunately, I allowed myself the luxury of pretending it to be fall. 
I used a recipe I found on Joy of Baking, who in turn, had adapted it from Martha Stewart’s Pies and Tarts.  On a whim, I decided to add in a bit of cardamom, and then I worried that the pie would taste like flowers.  It didn’t, thankfully; in fact, I was very pleased with the flavor.  It’s not an overly sweet pie, which allows the wonderful pumpkin flavor to shine.

Pumpkin Pie Bites Printable recipe

1 can (15 oz) pumpkin puree
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ginger
1/8 teaspoon cloves
1/8 teaspoon cardamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 recipe pastry

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Spray 2 mini-muffin pans with non-stick spray.
Working with one disk of pastry, using a small cookie scoop, dollop balls of dough into the prepared pan.
At this point, I used a tart tamper to form the balls into crusts; be sure to dust the tamper with flour before each use.  If you don’t have a tamper, just use your fingers to press the dough into shape.
Refrigerate pan while repeating the process with the other disk of pastry and making the filling.
In a large bowl, combine the pumpkin puree, cream and sugar. 
Mix until blended.
Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each addition.
Mix in spices and salt.
Remove muffin pans from the refrigerator, place each pan on a baking sheet, and fill each crust fully with the pumpkin mixture.
Bake pans for 15-20 minutes at 350 degrees, or until a tester inserted into the filling comes out clean.
Allow to cool for 5 minutes, and then remove from pan using a butter knife to help lift.
Serve with whipped cream, if desired, but I found these needed nothing extra.
Enjoy!

Pastry Method

Quarter 2 sticks of butter lengthwise.

Cut each quarter into 8 pieces.
 Place cubes of butter on a plate and freeze for 15 minutes.
Measure flour, sugar, and salt into a gallon ziplock bag.
Add cubes of butter to bag.
Using a rolling pin, press butter into flour.  Butter & flour should have a flattened, shaggy look.  Add water, tablespoon by tablespoon, until you can pinch together a clump of dough.

Form into 2 disks.
Wrap each disk in plastic wrap, and refrigerate for at least an hour before using.
4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie Bites

  1. Hey Reeni – I was terrible at making crusts, too – always went too far when working in the butter, and then I just had a greasy mess. This has worked out pretty well.
    I'm counting the days, too!

  2. I've never seen this method before! I'm really horrible at making crusts – I probably told you that before. Thanks for showing us! You make it look so darn easy. And the pumpkin pie bites are scrumptious! I'm counting the days until Fall.

  3. Thanks for sharing your pastry method — I need all the help I can get in that area! 😉 The pumpkin bites look great, I am so ready for fall flavors (and cooler weather)!

Leave a Reply

