Cheese Palmiers

Today is an on-the-fly post.  I’m going to a Silpada jewelry party, Andrew has baseball, there’s more school shopping, and on it goes… I’ve spoken somewhat incessantly of my devotion to obsession with puff pastry.  If you always have a package in your freezer, you always have the base of a great dessert or, in today’s case, an appetizer.  Brett’s cousin, Cheri, is hosting the jewelry party, and when we spoke on the phone yesterday, I volunteered to make something.  I wasn’t sure if I would go with something sweet or savory, but then I remembered that I had some delicious Irish cheddar in the fridge, and my decision was made.  A sheet of puff pastry, some Dijon, pinch of cayenne, and the cheddar…voila!  Cheese palmiers.  
Cheese Palmiers Printable recipe
1 package puff pastry, thawed
2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
4 oz Irish cheddar, shredded (any sharp cheddar will work)
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (or more, depending upon how spicy you want it)
Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
Line 2 baking sheets with parchment and set aside.
On a well-floured surface, roll 1 sheet of thawed puff pastry into a 12×12 square.
Spread 1 tablespoon of Dijon over sheet.
Sprinkle on 1/8 teaspoon of cayenne, then evenly distribute half of the cheddar.
Fold the left and right side of the pastry halfway toward the middle, then fold again, so they meet in the middle, then fold the two sides together again, as though you are closing a book.
Cut into 18 slices, placing each piece onto the prepared baking sheet.
Repeat process with other sheet of pastry.
Bake at 400 degrees for 15-18 minutes, or until cheese is bubbly and pastry is golden brown.
Serve warm or at room temperature.
3 thoughts on “Cheese Palmiers

  1. Louanne — there was not a crumb left of these. They were so awesome and I love that you just happen to have irish cheddar in your fridge! How about a cooking lesson for me one Saturday this month or next??? I can talk sterling silver and you can talk puff pastry! I think you might have to quit your day job and think about becoming a personal chef!!
    Love – Cheri
    P.S. – maybe you need to take me with you to the grocery store too. I had no idea there was such a thing as Irish Cheddar.

  2. I'm bookmarking this, as I have a huge obsession with puff pastry too! (I love its versatility!) I hope you enjoyed the party!

Leave a Reply

