Cranberry Cake with Orange Glaze

As of today, Christmas is 149 days away, and as of Sunday, we’ve bought 3 gifts.  Now, I know many of you are thinking that perhaps Louanne is wound a little too tight, already thinking of Christmas?  I’ll concede a maybe.  But, Christmas, and Thanksgiving, too, for that matter, are my absolute favorite times of the year, and I want to enjoy them fully, not as an afterthought.  Not to mention, December is probably our busiest month of the year.  Our wedding anniversary is December 6; Andrew’s birthday is December 14; we host the pre-Christmas family celebration, and I’m bringing back my cookie swap after a 2 year hiatus.  Did I mention that it’s a busy month? 
Anyway, after Sunday’s purchases, I began to think about my holiday baking, which brought to mind cranberries, which, in turn, reminded me of the many bags of cranberries in my freezer.  I am a hoarder of cranberries, and to an extent, pecans, although I’m sure any baker would say the same.  While generous when it comes to baking with pecans, seeing that I can always buy more pecans at anytime, I’m somewhat stingy with the cranberries.  But, as they will be back in the markets in a few months time, I’m happy to use them, and plan to make at least 2 recipes monthly until the new batch appears and/or I’ve used all of the bags in the freezer.
I found today’s recipe in my binder of clippings and handwritten recipes garnered from friends.  I’m unsure of its origins, as there’s no name and the handwriting is unfamiliar, save for the changes I made in pencil.  The cake is sweet and buttery, along with a lovely tartness from the cranberries.  It’s one of those great for breakfast, afternoon coffee, and after-dinner dessert cakes.  Hope you have some cranberries stashed away!

Cranberry Cake with Orange Glaze Printable recipe
1 1/3 cups flour
2/3 cup self-rising flour
3 eggs
2 cups sugar***
12 oz unsalted butter, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
1/4 teaspoon orange extract
1/4 teaspoon lemon extract
Zest of one orange
1/2 cup orange juice
12 oz cranberries (1 bag)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Spray a 13×9 pan with non-stick spray and set aside.
In a small bowl, whisk together the all-purpose and self-rising flour, set aside.
In a large bowl, combine the sugar and 3 eggs; beat together for 5 minutes. 
Add the butter, all extracts, zest, and orange juice and continue to beat for an additional 3-4 minutes. 
Stir in flours until no white streaks remain.
Gently stir in cranberries.
Pour batter into prepared pan, and bake for 45-55 minutes, or until tester inserted comes out clean.
Remove from oven and allow to cool.
***EDITED 07/29/2010  Many apologies – I left out the sugar in the original post!

Glaze
3 tablespoons orange juice
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
1 cup powdered sugar
Heat together orange juice and butter, until butter has melted and orange juice bubbles.
Remove from heat and whisk in powdered sugar, whisking until smooth.
Immediately pour hot glaze over cooled cake. 
Allow glaze to set and serve.
Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Cranberry Cake with Orange Glaze

  1. The holiday season is my favorite time of year too and as far as I'm concerned, it's never too early to start thinking about holiday baking! 🙂 This looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

