My best chocolate chip cookie

Thin & crispy or thick & chewy?  Is your family divided?  My son likes a thin cookie, and my husband likes a chewy cookie.  Personally, I have never been known to refuse a cookie, be it thin, thick, crispy, or chewy; however, as the lone baker in the family, the burden rested on my shoulders.  I needed a thin & chewy cookie.  So, I gathered recipes from my cookbooks, friends, the Internet, etc, and set out to bake a cookie that would please my two selective eaters.  I didn’t do this overnight, not even in a month; no, this undertaking has been a year-long process.  Not that I bake chocolate chip cookies that often; I don’t, which is probably why it took me a year, but everytime I made them, I’d tweak the previous recipe, until finally, this weekend, we arrived at this moment.  A thin & chewy cookie that both husband & son could agree upon, a cookie that they both proclaimed to be my best chocolate chip cookie, ever!

My best chocolate chip cookie  Printable recipe
1 1/2 cups oat flour**
3 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 lb unsalted butter, softened
3 cups dark brown sugar
1 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla
4 eggs
3 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
2 cups pecans, toasted & chopped, optional

Mix together the flour, oat flour, salt, and baking soda; set aside.
In a large bowl, cream the butter, sugars, and vanilla together for 3 minutes. 
Add eggs to sugar mixture, one at a time.
Mix in the dry ingredients.
Stir in chocolate chips and nuts, if using.
Refrigerate for at least 30-60 minutes.
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Portion cookie dough onto parchment-lined or sprayed cookie sheets.
These cookies spread, so don’t crowd them.  I portioned 9 cookies to a half-sheet pan.
Bake for 8-9 minutes.  Mine took 8 minutes 30 seconds.
Remove from oven and allow to cool before removing to a rack.
This recipe made 4 cookie pizzas (9″) and 5 dozen cookies. 

**Make oat flour by grinding quick-cooking oats in your food processor. 

5 thoughts on “My best chocolate chip cookie

  1. Hey girls! I know, I love, love, love a homebaked cookie, especially chocolate chip. Reeni, there's a lovely stack with your name on it!

  2. I agree with you and Reeni — I've never turned down a cookie (especially chocolate chip)! This is my #1 favorite kind of cookie!

  3. I've never been known to turn down a cookie either – a home-baked one anyway! These look heavenly! I love the flavor of oat flour – I use it a lot in my baking. Save a stack for me!

Leave a Reply

