Spicy Garlic & Ginger Eggplant

Happy 4th of July!  Be safe & enjoy the day!

The last time I ate at PF Changs was in January 2008.  I remember because it was a week after a haircut that left me looking like Harry Potter.  As I am not a male teenage wizard, this was not nearly as attractive as it may sound.  It was also the last time my mother, sister, and I went shopping together sans children.  Well, with the exception of all of us visiting the new Winn Dixie in February 2010.  Yes, we do lead incredibly exciting lives.
Anyway, PF Changs is in the mall where we were shopping.  My mother truly hearts PF Changs, really, she does, and it was only fitting that we encouraged her to choose our lunch spot.  So, there we sat, with the little blinky thing that goes into a frenzy when your table is ready.  During our wait, we perused the menu and made our lunch decisions, lettuce wraps, Mongolian beef, and the stir-fried eggplant.  After 30 minutes or so, we were seated, gave our drink and lunch order, and planned the rest of the shopping expedition.  Once the food arrived, we launched into our typical “how can we make this at home” discussion.  Does anyone else out there do that?  Try to figure out the recipe?  I’ve had people ask me why would I do that when I can just come to wherever we are and order it.  Well, I suppose the answer is that why would I not.  To be able to make and enjoy a restaurant fave at home is fun for me, rather like solving a mystery, which is how I arrived at today’s recipe.
I have a lone eggplant bush in my garden, a superstar, actually, as it is a prolific producer.  I’ve already made fried eggplant and eggplant Romano, so it was time to move on to another fave, my spicy eggplant.  It’s similar to PF Changs’ version, but you wouldn’t confuse the two.

Spicy Garlic & Ginger Eggplant

2 lbs eggplant, peeled or not, your decision, and cut into 2 inch pieces
1 tablespoon grated ginger
3 tablespoons grated garlic
3 green onions, sliced diagonally
2-3 tablespoons canola oil
2-3 green onions, sliced (for garnish)

Cooking sauce
3 tablespoons oyster sauce***see GF recipe
3-4 tablespoons coconut aminos
2 tablespoons sesame oil
2 tablespoons dry sherry
1-2 teaspoons Sriracha)

Combine cooking sauce ingredients, stir to mix, and set aside.
In a large skillet or wok, heat 2 tablespoons of the oil and add eggplant.
Cook over medium-high heat until eggplant begins to carmelize and is tender.
Remove eggplant and set aside.
Heat the additional tablespoon of oil and add the ginger, garlic and diagonally-cut green onions, cook until fragrant, stirring continuously, for 2-3 minutes.  Do not allow garlic to burn.
Add sauce to ginger & garlic, bring to a boil, and return eggplant to skillet.
Cook over low heat until sauce thickens, about 5 minutes.
Garnish with green onions, if desired.
Enjoy!

***Gluten Free Oyster Sauce

  • 4 tablespoons coconut aminos
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon light brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch

Mix together until smooth.  Reserve remaining sauce in fridge for up to 7 days.

5 thoughts on “Spicy Garlic & Ginger Eggplant

  1. Aww, I remember the Harry Potter hair cut- I didn't want to say anything! I literally choked on my drink when I read that! I haven't visited your site in a while, I'm amazed! I'm searching for some new recipes for the diet. All I crave is vegetables. Keep up the great job, this is great. Love you!

  2. Hey Reeni! Eggplant can be fickle; last year all of my plants contracted some weird virus and we didn't get any. This year, I only planted 2, and I'm picking 3-5 every other day.

  3. I've never been to PF Changs either! The eggplant sounds really good! I tried growing eggplant two summers in a row and failed – they wouldn't grow bigger than a ping pong ball…

Leave a Reply

