Red Lentil & Coconut Milk Soup

We’ve just returned from a jaunt to Gulf Shores, Alabama with my 2 sisters-in-law and nieces.  We had a nice time, soaking up the sun while swimming in the pool.  On the way, the husband and I took Andrew to Alligator Alley.  Scroll to the bottom to see pictures.
While it’s always nice to get away from the day-to-day, I’m a homebody, and I am very happy to be home.  I have done no cooking in the past 5 days, unless you call making a sandwich or toasting bread cooking.  With 5 kids in tow, we didn’t exactly enjoy 5-star restaurants.  Nope, we ate here, which is more of a novelty, what with people throwing rolls and passing out fried okra.  We also ate more pizza and fast food than I care to admit.  So, after arriving home, unpacking, and starting laundry, I headed to the kitchen.  I needed to cook, but my supplies were somewhat limited.  Why lentil soup?  Well, it is a quick-cooking soup; I love lentils, and I’ve got a bit of a sore throat, yet again, so I wanted something warm and comforting.  Plus, I had a half bag of leftover lentils after making these little gems a few weeks ago.  I used red lentils, but brown or green would work, too.

Red Lentil & Coconut Milk Soup Printable recipe
1 cup red lentils
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup onions, diced
1/2 cup celery, diced
1/4 cup red bell pepper, diced
1 jalapeno pepper, diced
1 tablespoon grated garlic
2 cups chicken broth
14 oz can diced tomatoes
14 oz can lite coconut milk
1 teaspoon curry powder
1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
Water
Salt & pepper to taste
Yogurt or heavy cream, optional

In a medium-sized Dutch oven, heat olive oil and add onions, celery, bell pepper, jalapeno pepper, and garlic.
Cook until tender; add curry & cardamom to onion mixture, and continue to cook for another 5 minutes. 
Add lentils, diced tomatoes, and chicken broth.
Bring to a boil, lower heat, and cook for 20 minutes, stirring often.
After 20 minutes, add the can of coconut milk and one can of water.  Return to a boil, lower heat, and continue to cook until lentils are tender. 
Taste for seasoning, and add as necessary.
I like my soup somewhat thick, so I allow most of the liquid to evaporate, but cook the soup to your preference. 
Serve with a dollop of yogurt or drizzle of heavy cream, if desired.
Enjoy!

Alligator Alley

4 thoughts on “Red Lentil & Coconut Milk Soup

  1. I'm the same way — I love going on vacation but I love coming back home even more! 🙂 The soup looks delicious, I love the curry combined with the coconut milk and lentils!

  2. Thanks, Reeni! Homey is the perfect word – I'm eating the last bowl for lunch today. And, yes, Andrew loved alligator alley – me too! LOL

  3. I bet your son loved alligator alley! It's nice to get away but coming home is better – I'm a homebody too. This soup looks homey and delicious with the coconut milk!

Leave a Reply

