Peanut Butter Cookie Bars

The other day, the husband and child went along on the Wal-mart run.  The guys took their own cart and went off to peruse the DVD, toy, and fish selection.  I took my cart and headed into the wilds of the grocery section.  The plan was for them to meet me in the produce section in about 20 minutes.  When I rounded the corner, I saw them in the bakery section, which is adjacent to the produce department.  When I saw a container of peanut butter cookies inside my husband’s cart, I felt a big twinge of guilt, as I had long promised him that I’d bake a batch.  So on Sunday (Father’s Day), I woke up early and baked a batch of these.  I used peanut butter chips for a double flavor blast, but I’ve made these with chocolate chips, and they are delicious, too.
Peanut Butter Cookie Bars Printable recipe

6 oz unsalted butter, softened
1/4 cup peanut butter, crunchy or smooth
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 large egg
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup flour
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
6 oz bag peanut butter chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Spray a 9×9 square baking dish with non-stick spray and line with parchment paper, leaving an overhang on opposite sides so that you can lift out the bars when they are done.

With a fork, whisk the flour, baking powder and salt together; set aside.
Cream together the butter, peanut butter, brown sugar, and vanilla, about 4 minutes.
Beat in the egg.
Stir in the dry ingredients, then the peanut butter chips.
Spread batter in prepared baking dish.

Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until wooden pick comes out with a few crumbs attached.***

***When I’ve made these before, they cooked in less than 30 minutes.  Today, it took 45 minutes, so I’m unsure if my oven temp is off or what; to be on the safe side, please check your bars at 25 minutes.

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cookie Bars

  1. Louanne, I can't come here, too often because I walk away with these delicious recipes that I must make. I am going to try to fit this one in, today. I have a cake to make for a group first but I really want to do this. It is printed and ready to go.

    Looks better than the best.

  2. What a sweet Father's Day surprise! These look absolutely amazing — so moist, and I love the pb chips for the double pb flavor!

Leave a Reply

