Seriously addictive…Jalapeno Poppers

As much as I love stuffed jalapenos, I’ve made them twice. This was the first successful attempt; the last time was over 12 years ago. My sister and I were frying catfish and had the idea to stuff and fry jalapenos. It didn’t matter that neither of us had ever made them – we had eaten them, after all, and really, what’s to know? Ha! For starters, a big old block of cheddar cheese stuffed into a hallowed out pepper dipped into fish fry wrapped with bacon and thrown into 375 degrees of oil does not a stuffed jalapeno make. Nope. Not at all, actually. The cheese oozed out, the bacon burned, and the pepper was still crunchy. Definitely not one of our finer culinary moments. So, that was that as far as jalapeno poppers went.

Until now, that is. For weeks, I’ve written “jalapeno peppers” on my grocery list, bought a bag of them, and tossed them into the crisper where they somehow got lost amidst the bags of kale, parsley, and spinach, and grew enough mold to become virtually unrecognizable. Not this weekend, though.

Knowing I’d be the only person to eat these, I stuffed 6 peppers. I stuffed all 12 halves with the chive & onion cream cheese, sprinkled sharp cheddar on 6 halves, and wrapped all 12 with a piece of bacon. I baked them at 425 degrees for 17 minutes. It’s a good thing I only made 12 halves, because I ate all of them. These things are addictive. Seriously addictive. With cheddar, without cheddar. No matter. Make some this weekend.

Jalapeno Poppers Printable recipe
6 jalapeno peppers, halved and seeded
Chive & onion cream cheese
4 slices thin-cut bacon, cut into thirds
Finely shredded cheddar cheese, optional (I used the microplane)
Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
Line a baking pan with parchment.

Using a small spoon, fill each half with cream cheese.
If using, press filled half into shredded cheese.
Wrap all halves, with and without cheddar cheese, with a piece of bacon.
Secure bacon with toothpick.
Place on parchment and bake for 15-20 minutes – these shown baked in 17 minutes.
Serve warm.
Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Seriously addictive…Jalapeno Poppers

  1. Thanks Reeni! I still have more peppers, so I'm going to make them for Father's day when there are many people around to eat them. I'm crazy for the things!

  2. Thank you, Jaime! They were dangerously addictive – I made more, but I brought them to work. I can't stop myself from eating them!

Leave a Reply

