Chocolate & Toffee Chip Frozen Yogurt

Do you have an ice cream maker?  I didn’t until recently.  I’ve made two very different frozen desserts.  The first was a vanilla ice cream; I used the recipe that was in the product booklet.  Here’s what I’ll say about that – if you like your ice cream overly sweet andso rich that your lips are slick, well this might be the ice cream for you.  I’m very sorry that I made the entire batch. 
My next experiment attempt was frozen yogurt.  Feeling somewhat adventurous, I decided to substitute agave nectar for half of the sugar.  Well, it was a bonafide success!  Creamy, just sweet enough, and tangy.  The chocolate and toffee chips contributed little to the overall flavor, but I liked the contrast in texture; I added them in an attempt to get Andrew to try it.  He took a taste, but the tanginess was just too much for my little guy.  I have some great flavor combos I plan to try, so you can look forward to more froyo recipes! 

Chocolate & Toffee Chip Frozen Yogurt Printable recipe
24 oz Greek yogurt
1/3 cup agave nectar
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoons mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, optional
2 tablespoons toffee chips, optional
Mix first 4 ingredients together and stir until there is no grittiness from the sugar.  I didn’t chill this; I just added it directly to the ice cream freezer bowl.  I added the chips about 20 minutes into the process, and in another 5 minutes, I had a delicious dessert.  When you make your batch, follow the manufacturer’s instructions for your ice cream maker. 
Enjoy!
***I used full-fat. Also, if you don’t have Greek yogurt, you will have to strain the yogurt. Click here for a great tutorial if you’ve unfamiliar with the process.

Leave a Reply

