Hash Browns

Potato salad?  Twice-baked potatoes?  Cheese & bacon potato skins?  Well, today I did none of those, however, that third option would have been over-the-top yummy.  Nope, none of those.  I made a delicious skillet of hash browns with caramelized onions.  This is a new dish for us, as I usually make one the three dishes mentioned above.  I made these for the first time last week, can’t remember when, though.  What I do remember is that we ate them before I had a chance to snap a picture.  So, poor us, I had to make them again.  I actually baked these with the purpose of making hash browns.  I used a regular white onion, but I think green onions would be really tasty.   
Hash Browns Printable recipe
Leftover baked potatoes, cut into large dice (I had 3 russets and 3 reds)
2 medium onions, sliced
Canola oil, 4-6 tablespoons
Salt and pepper
Parsley, for garnish
In a large skillet on medium-high, heat 2 -3 tablespoons of oil.  Add onions and cook until they are beginning to brown.  If the skillet is dry, you’ll need to add more oil – I added another 1-2 tablespoons.  Add potatoes, salt and pepper.  Lower heat to medium, and cook until potatoes caramelize.  Sprinkle with parsley, if desired, and serve.
Enjoy! 
One thought on “Hash Browns

  1. Pingback: Loaded Cauliflower Casserole | Louanne's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

