Oreo Cheesecake Cupcakes

The blocks of cream cheese in my refrigerator are slowly diminishing, especially with this recipe.
I like cheesecake; it’s not my favorite dessert in the world, ie, if I had to choose between a brownie or a piece of cheesecake, the brownie would win, hands down.  I like texture contrasts, of which there is a modicum in basic cheesecake.  However, the addition of cookie pieces raises my estimation of these little cheesecake gems. 
There are multiple versions of these mini cheesecakes in the blogosphere; I’ve made two changes: I substituted the container of whipped cream cheese for an 8 oz block, as the container had been mistakenly opened on Saturday, so it’s life was dwindling exponentially.  Additionally, since I rarely have sour cream but always have Greek yogurt, that’s what I used.
These went over very well with the husband, who, like me, prefers some crunch in his cheesecake.

Oreo Cheesecake Cupcakes Printable recipe
1 1/2 packages Oreo cookies (48 cookies)
3 blocks (8 oz.) cream cheese
1 12 oz. container whipped cream cheese
1 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup Greek-style yogurt or sour cream
4 eggs
Paper liners

Preheat oven to 275 degrees
Line 3 standard muffin tins with paper liners
Place an Oreo cookie in each liner and set aside
Crush remaining cookies and set aside
Beat cream cheese, sugar, vanilla, and yogurt until well blended
Add in eggs, 1 at a time, until blended
Fold in 1 1/2 cups of the crushed Oreo cookies
Portion cheesecake filling into paper liners and sprinkle on remaining crushed cookies
Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until filling is set
Remove from oven and allow to cool for 15-20 minutes
Refrigerate for at least 4 hours or overnight
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

