Raspberry Muffins with Buttery Streusel

We were in Sam’s on Saturday, along with half of St. Tammany parish.  Busy, busy, busy and super-crowded.  Not the most conducive to shopping.  Well, for me, anyway.  Some people are energized by the buzz and crowds; I just find it overwhelming and draining. 

Back to Sam’s – I don’t even remember why we went there…ah, I do remember.  The husband needed an air compressor, and we thought Sam’s might have one; however, they didn’t.  So, we were there, and not wanting the trip to be a wasted one, I perused the fruit and vegetable area, not looking for anything in particular, but hoping in the back of my mind that I’d find some fresh raspberries.  After maneuvering through the masses trying to secure themselves a sample of cheese, I found them!  Lovely, perfect, and sharing the cooler with blackberries!  I had to stop myself from buying more than one container of each.  I knew any more than 2 containers would be an exercise in wastefulness.  The lovely jewels would be on their way to the compost pile before I could use them.  So, with a container of each, I made my way back to the DVD section where the husband and child were waiting.  And, low and behold what did I come upon?  Well, an enormous display of strawberries, that’s what!  I picked up two containers of strawberries, as they are the favorite fruit of the boy.  When I located my guys, both broke into huge grins over the loot I had in my arms.  The husband is a fiend for raspberry muffins, specifically, the one he remembers from Mrs. Fields.  Through the years, I’ve made many raspberry muffins, but none that he deemed as good as Mrs. Fields.  Well, guess what folks?  I made these last night, and he said they were better!  So, hurry yourself to the store for some raspberries and make these on Saturday morning, or any morning, actually, they’re a great way to start the day.
  
Raspberry Muffins with Buttery Streusel Printable recipe

Streusel
1/2 cup flour
1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/4 cup sugar

Muffins
2 cups self-rising flour
1 cup sugar
7 oz half & half
1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
2 large eggs, well beaten
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/8 teaspoon lemon extract
1/8 teaspoon orange extract
1/2 teaspoon lemon zest
1 cup raspberries (if using frozen, do not thaw)

In a small bowl, mix together streusel ingredients until crumbly and set aside. 
Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
Line two standard muffin tins with paper liners.
In a large bowl, whisk together half & half, sugar, melted butter, eggs, extracts, and lemon zest.
Add flour and mix in until no white streaks remain; batter will be lumpy.
Gently fold in raspberries.
Portion batter into paper liners.
Sprinkle streusel on top.
Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean.
Let cool in pans for 5 minutes before turning out onto a wire rack.
Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Raspberry Muffins with Buttery Streusel

Leave a Reply

