Paneed Chicken Tenders

Growing up, we often had something I called potted meat.  No, not that stuff in the can.  It was round steak dipped in egg and coated with Italian breadcrumbs and fried.  The actual term, and what was being said, is paneed meat, but I heard potted meat.  Goofy kid?  Yes, I most definitely was a goofball.
Anyway, all of us loved paneed meat, still do, actually.  Now, however, I rarely make it with beef; in fact, I can’t remember the last time I did.  I much prefer, as does my husband, paneed chicken breasts.  I’ve never actually had a recipe; it’s more a method than anything.  Sometimes I pan fry, and other times I bake it in the oven.  It’s infinitely easier to use the oven, as you can prepare an entire pan at one time, otherwise you’re stuck over the stove.  I had a million things to do when I made these, so I used my oven.  You can certainly use thinly cut chicken cutlets, but this time I used chicken tenders.  I’m sure boneless, skinless thighs would work, too.  Also, regular Italian breadcrumbs work great for this, but Italian panko is really great!

Paneed Chicken Printable recipe
2 lbs chicken tenderloins, salt & peppered to taste
1 cup flour, seasoned with salt & pepper
3 eggs
1 cup milk
1-2 cups Italian breadcrumbs or Italian panko
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, finely grated
Salt and pepper to taste
1 stick unsalted butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
Line a large baking sheet with parchment (You can use non-stick spray, too)
Pour seasoned flour onto a shallow plate
Combine breadcrumbs and Parmesan on a shallow plate, as well
In a bowl, beat together eggs and milk
Dip the chicken tenders into the flour, egg wash, and then into the breadcrumbs
Place breaded chicken onto parchment-lined pan
Using a teaspoon, drizzle melted butter over chicken tenders, until you’ve used all of the butter
Place pan into 350 degree oven and bake for 20-30 minutes, or until chicken is golden brown & cooked through
Allow chicken to rest for 10 minutes before serving
Enjoy!
This method works equally well for porkchops and eggplant.

 

One thought on “Paneed Chicken Tenders

  1. WOW! never thought to use chicken for my paneed meat! (We don't get Italian bread crumbs…have to make our own bread crumbs using the toaster and the grater and add parmesan cheese, garlic salt, oragano, and basil to make it Italian!) If using this method remember to let the toast cool completely before grating or it all sticks together. I learned that the hard way!) Thanks!

Leave a Reply

