Really Good Blueberry Coffee Cake

According to my son, blueberry muffins are the best.  Wait, let me clarify.  Blueberry muffins from school are the best.  Now, do you think that the homemade muffins that I made this morning are like the ones at school?  Unequivocally, no.  In fact, after declaring them unfit for human consumption, he requested a bowl of cereal.  Nothing like disdain from a 5 year old at 6:30 in the morning.
I’ll agree that these are not like the muffins they serve at school.  I’m also fairly positive that these are infinitely better.  You can make this in a 13×9 pan, or as I did, 12 muffins and an 8×8 pan.  The picture above is actually a piece of blueberry coffee cake.  Regardless of the bakeware you choose, pan or muffin tin, this recipe yields a deliciously moist, tender, and full of blueberries, cake.  I often sprinkle on a lovely cinnamon-sugar topping – optional, of course, but truly scrumptious. 
At some point in the last 10 years or so, I began using self-rising flour – making the recipe even easier to make early in the morning when I’m nursing my first cup of coffee.  Even with that simplication, I still managed to forget to toss the blueberries with a bit of flour.  Had I remembered, they would be nicely suspended throughout instead of sitting there on the bottom.  Still, my husband declared them really good.  I agree.

Really Good Blueberry Coffee Cake Printable recipe
2 cups self-rising flour
2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar + 1/4 cup
3 eggs
1 cup milk (I used skim, but use whatever you have in the fridge)
1 1/2 cups blueberries (fresh or frozen)
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugars until light and fluffy. 
Add eggs, one at a time.
Incorporate half of the flour, then half of the milk.  Repeat with remaing flour and milk.
Toss the blueberries with 1 tablespoon of flour, then gently fold into the batter.***
Pour into a 13×9 pan or into muffin pan and 8×8 pan.
Mix together 1/4 sugar and cinnamon.  Sprinkle over batter.
Bake until a tester inserted in the middle comes out clean – 13×9 for 45-50 minutes, muffins for 35-40 minutes, and an 8×8 pan for 40-45 minutes.
Let cool for 15-20 minutes and serve warm or room temperature. 
Enjoy!
***If using frozen blueberries, do not let them thaw.
Leave a Reply

