Shrimp Etouffee – Philly style

Ok, so this contest has taken over my cooking life!  If I’m not timing a recipe, then I’m tweaking a recipe for the time limit.  My etouffee fits within the time frame, so I’m going to make it for entree week.  I may do some additional tweaking though, as I can never leave well-enough alone.
Anyway, after eating dinner last night, the husband pronounced this as delicious.  As I’ve mentioned before, my husband is a selective eater, so delicious is high praise!  I liked it, but I think it could stand some improvement.  I think entree week begins May 10, so I can probably make this a number of times before then. 
I used basmati rice for this, which I really like, as the etouffee is rather saucy.  You can use regular long-grain, of course, but if you’ve not ever tried basmati, this is a good recipe to give it a whirl.

Shrimp Etouffee – Philly-style Printable recipe

1 stick butter
2 cups diced onion
1 cup diced celery
1/2 cup diced red bell pepper (you can use green)
1 tablespoon minced garlic
1/4 tsp dried savory (substitute 1/8 tsp dried thyme)
1 can cream of shrimp soup, diluted with half-n-half
8 oz cream cheese, cut into 16 pieces
1/4 cup white wine (I used Pinot Grigio)
1 lb peeled and deveined shrimp (I used frozen wild-caught Louisiana shrimp)
Chopped parsley and green onions for garnish
Salt and cayenne to taste
Hot cooked rice

Melt butter in large saucepan over medium-high heat.
Saute onions, celery, bell pepper, garlic, and dried savory in butter, until onions are translucent and starting to turn brown.
Add the can of soup and cream cheese, stirring until all incorporated.
Fill soup can with half-n-half and add to mixture, along with white wine.
Bring mixture to a boil, then reduce to a simmer.
Simmer on low for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
Add shrimp (mine were still frozen) and bring back to a medium simmer.
Cook for 10 minutes or until shrimp are pink and cooked through – be careful to not overcook.
Taste for seasoning, adding salt and cayenne as desired.
Serve over hot cooked rice and garnish with parsley and green onions.
Enjoy!

One thought on “Shrimp Etouffee – Philly style

  1. Tom and the girls only like basmati. The one time I bought regular rice recently (when no basmati was available) he threw a tantrum and I wound up having the whole bag myself…

Leave a Reply

