Potato Salad

It is the grilling season, and there’s nothing I like more along with my grilled whatever is potato salad.  The potato salad of my childhood was mayonnaise based, as is this version.  I’m no expert on potato salad, but I dare say that most mayonnaise versions have similar ingredients, celery, pickles, and eggs.  This was the potato salad that I was most familiar.  Some versions use sweet pickles rather than dill, and while I love sweet pickles, I’m not a fan of them in potato salad.  I like textural contrasts, so the adjustments I’ve made correspond with that preference.  Lots of diced celery, but no boiled eggs.  Onions and parsley, but no pickles.  Less mayonnaise, more mustard.  I love the combination of potatoes and green onions, but if I add them along with the mayonnaise, I find the delicate, crunchy texture is lost, so I always have a small bowl of sliced green onions for those, like me, who like to add them.  I also like a little heat, but I’ve found out the hard way that potato salad with cayenne gets hotter and hotter as it sits in the refrigerator, so that, too, is available for anyone who wishes to sprinkle it on.  The pepper seasoning I used here is a special blend of red, black, and white peppers. 

If I really want to shake it up at family potlucks, sometimes I’ll toss the potatoes with a vinegar-based dressing, very similar to the vinaigrette I make for my spinach salad.  There hasn’t been a revolt, probably because I’ll also make the traditional version, but it’s obvious from the leftovers which is preferred.
Potato Salad Printer friendly
2 lbs potatoes, peeled and cut
2 cups celery, diced
1/4 cup red onion, diced
3-4 tablespoons parsley, chopped
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1 tablespoon yellow mustard
Sliced green onions for garnish
Cayenne pepper
Place potatoes in a medium-sized saucepan and cover with generously salted water. 
Cook potatoes until fork tender, drain, and return to saucepan.
In a serving bowl, mix mayonnaise and mustard. 
Add celery, onions, and parsley, mix well.
Add warm potatoes to mixture, and stir until well-combined.  If too dry, add 1 teaspoon of mayonnaise at a time until desired consistency is reached.
If desired, garnish individual servings with green onions and a sprinkle of pepper.
Enjoy!
One thought on “Potato Salad

  1. Pingback: Loaded Cauliflower Casserole | Louanne's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

