Tomato Orange Soup

Last week, some friends from work attended a library conference in Portland, OR. Before they left, I emailed a list of suggested restaurants for them to try. They visited none, unfortunately; however, they did visit Elephants Deli, where they had a bowl of tomato orange soup. I thought I had heard wrong. Tomato and orange? Together? In soup? Yes, yes, and yes, again. Intrigued, I had to find out more information, so I Googled tomato orange soup, and up it popped. I read the recipe, and the only ingredient that gave me pause was the orange juice. Well, that explained the orange part of the soup. Would it taste sweet? Like an orange, sweet, or just a little sweet? Would it be orange? Well, no answers would be forthcoming unless I made it myself. So, I did. And? It is beyond delicious, it’s amazingly good, and it’s a beautiful color.

I did make a couple of changes. I increased the onion to one cup, added garlic, and substituted dried savory for the thyme. Do you use savory? It’s similar to thyme, but I find it fresher and more lemony. I’ve been using it quite often. Anyway, back to the soup. As I was saying, the soup is delicious; in fact, I think it has surpassed my former favorite, tomato-basil soup. I can only imagine how delicious it will be with garden-fresh tomatoes…heavenly.

Tomato Orange Soup Printable recipe
1 stick unsalted butter
1 cup onion, chopped
1 tablespoon garlic, minced
1 28 oz can diced tomatoes
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon dried savory
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
1/2 cup whipping cream

In a medium-sized saucepan, melt the butter over medium-high heat.  Add the onion and garlic, reduce heat, and saute until tender and translucent, about 10 minutes.  Add the tomatoes, salt, pepper, savory, and baking soda.  Bring to a boil, and then reduce to a simmer, cooking another 15-20 minutes, or until thickened.  Puree with an immersion blender or in a food processor/blender.  Once smooth, add orange juice.  At this point, the soup can be refrigerated until ready to serve.  If serving immediately, add the whipping cream and bring to a simmer over medium-low heat, stirring constantly.  If desired, drizzle extra cream on top for a decorative look. 
Enjoy!

Linked to Recipe of the Week- Soup!

One thought on “Tomato Orange Soup

  1. Louanne, I work for Elephants Deli, and I gotta say this soup is a fan favorite with Portlanders! Thanks for sharing with your readers.

Leave a Reply

