Roasted Ratatouille

This morning as I attempted to put away groceries I had just purchased, I realized that the vegetable and fruit bins in our refrigerator were nearing capacity.  Apples and grapefruit were sharing space with the celery and eggplant.  Bell peppers of all colors were intermingled with cuties, lemons, and limes making each nearly indistinguishable.  There was no space for the newly purchased strawberries, cucumbers, and grapes, so they took up residence on the shelf with the eggs.  The chickens and sausage I bought for jambalaya were crammed here, there, and yonder.  Milk, cream, orange juice, and a pitcher of tea were on varying shelves. Total chaos, I tell you; something had to give, but what?  I took a quick inventory of the necessary components for Easter dinner – anything else was fair game.  Giant fruit salad?  Not a bad idea, but where would I put the bowl of fruit?  Nope.  I needed something that would provide space immediately and leave little or no leftovers.  The eggplant, zucchini, and peppers gave me an idea – ratatouille – not just any ratatouille, but roasted ratatouille!  I had tons of onions, garlic, and tomatoes – I was in business.  The best thing of all?  This is a one-pan recipe, and it cooks for a long time with virtually no attention needed, which means you can do other things, like read, write a blog post, or as I did, fold the clothes that are piled on your dining room table.  Woohoo!

Roasted Ratatouille Printable recipe
1 medium eggplant, cut into large chunks (peeled or unpeeled, your choice)
2 zucchini, sliced
2 yellow bell peppers, cut into squares (or whatever combination you have)
2 medium onions, cut into chunks
6 smallish tomatoes, halved and seeded
Whole garlic cloves, peeled (I used an entire head, but use whatever amount you like)
1/4 teaspoon dried basil
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon dried savory
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/4 – 1/2 cup olive oil

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Spray a 13×9 baking dish with non-stick spray.  Combine vegetables, garlic cloves, dried herbs, salt and pepper in the baking dish.  Pour on 1/4 cup olive oil, tossing the vegetables in the oil.  The vegetables need to well-coated, so if they seem dry, pour on the additional olive oil as needed.  I used just shy of 1/2 cup.  Roast, uncovered, in the oven until vegetables are tender and caramelized – this took nearly 3 hours for me.  I did give everything a stir twice during the cooking time.
This is delicious hot or at room-temperature.  Leftovers are beyond delicious as a pizza topping or tossed with orzo.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

