Easter Cupcakes

My son loves helping out in the kitchen, especially when I’m baking cupcakes!  As you can see, I’ve gone color crazy with the frosting.  Powdered food coloring strikes again!  The cupcake itself is a butter cake recipe from my friend, Melinda, who is from Australia.  The recipe is also used for Lamington cake, which, apparently, is a large version of Lamingtons.  I tweaked it a bit, just because I love Fiori di Sicilia and I will add it to baked goods whenever I can. 
I’m sure some of you are growing tired of cakes and cookies – I know I am!  So, tune in tomorrow for something savory!  In the mean time, Andrew invites you to enjoy the cupcakes.

Lamington Cupcakes Printable recipe
14 tablespoons butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon Fiori di Sicilia
3 eggs
1 cup milk
2 1/3 cups self-rising flour
Buttercream icing
Powdered food coloring, optional

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line 2 standard cupcake pans with baking cups.
In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream together the butter, sugar and extracts until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.  Add in eggs, one at a time.  With the mixer on low, alternately add the flour and milk, beginning and ending with the flour.
Fill each baking cup 2/3 full.  Bake for 18-21 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean.

Buttercream
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
2 teaspoons vanilla
2-4 tablespoons milk
1 lb box powdered sugar

Cream together butter and vanilla until fluffy, about 3 minutes.  With the mixer on low, gradually add the powdered sugar, then slowly pour in the milk, 1 tablespoon at a time. If using powdered food coloring, divide icing and mix in coloring.
When cupcakes have cooled, frost as desired.
Yield: 24 cupcakes

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Easter Cupcakes

  1. Thank you! He had a great time frosting them.
    I love depression glass, too, but I only have one piece. The ones on my wall are Bordallo Pinheiro pottery. The pieces come in many colors, but the green is my favorite.

  2. What pretty cupcakes! Very festive. I wish your son could pass me one through the screen! And is that depression glass on your wall? My Mom would love it.

Leave a Reply

