Easter Amaretti

Yesterday, you read the saga of the French macaron, for which I say thank you. It was a long post. Today, I’ll be short and sweet, because that’s a perfect description of these cookies. These are amaretti, the Italian macaroon. So simple, so quick, and so delicious! No meringue, no feet, and no filling – just almond goodness. I added powdered food coloring to get the lovely pastel colors.

Have I mentioned that powdered food coloring is now on my list of favorite things? It’s fabulous! Seriously, FABULOUS! So far, I’ve colored buttercream icing for cupcakes, the French macaroons, and today, the amaretti. The colors are gorgeous and there is no yucky taste. I want to try it in cake batter, and I’m currently considering baking a multi-layer cake for Easter.  Maybe I’ll do each layer a different color.  How pretty would that be?
Anyway, back to the amaretti. I used my food processor to grind the almonds, but I think you could use almond flour and get a similar result without the processor. I’ll give a whirl this weekend, and post an update next week. On with the recipe, this is probably the easiest recipe, ever!

Easter Amaretti Printable recipe
3 cups slivered almonds
1 ½ cups granulated sugar
3 egg whites (large eggs)
1 teaspoon almond extract
Powdered food coloring

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line baking pan(s) with parchment paper.

In the bowl of the food processor, combine all ingredients except powdered food coloring. Process until a stiff, but malleable paste forms – about 1 minute. If the mixture is crumbly, pulse a few more times.

If you want to bake them sans color, use a small cookie scoop and portion out the dough onto parchment lined baking sheets.

If you are using the food coloring, portion out the dough into quart-size plastic bags and add 1/8 – 1/4 teaspoon of powdered food coloring to each bag. I divided the dough into thirds, so I used 1/8 teaspoon, so use more or less depending on how you divide the dough. I sealed the bag, and using my hands, squished the dough until the color was distributed evenly – this will take some effort, as the dough is stiff. Portion out the dough using a small cookie scoop.

Bake for 10-11 minutes, and allow to cool before removing from parchment. It’s best to use a small spatula for removal.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

