Smothered Cabbage and Apples

Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you!  Is your corned beef brisket simmering away on the stove or in your slow-cooker?  Too bad that I just couldn’t be satisfied to do the same.  But, no, I had to take a different path, and let me tell you, it was the wrong path, like I ended up in the Forbidden Forest or something.  I baked my corned beef of boiling it.  Mistake.  Monumental mistake, as in inedible.  Salty, salty, salty.  Like swell your fingers into sausages salty.  Yesterday, when I mentioned that I would be baking it, my friend Melinda commented that she thought baking might concentrate the salt in the brisket.  I’ll confess, it had not occurred to me, but she was absolutely right.  It would not have been that big of an issue, if not for the fact that I was taking it to work for our St. Patrick’s potluck.  There was no way I could prepare another brisket in time for lunch, so I had to come up with an alternative.  As luck would have – St. Patrick’s day, remember – I had 2 lbs of Italian sausage in my freezer.  Italian sausage?  Yes, I know it’s not even close on a substitute for corned beef, but I was desperate.  I prepared the sausage this morning, along with peppers and onions.  There were no complaints when I brought it in this morning.
Thankfully, I fared much better with the cabbage, due in part, to the same conversation with my friend, Melinda.  She mentioned that she added apples to her smothered cabbage.  Yum!  I like apples in my cole slaw, so apples with smothered cabbage sounded like the way to go.  Let me tell you, it brought my smothered cabbage to a whole new level.  A little hint of tart from the apples, combined with the sweetness of the carmelized onions and cabbage elevate this dish to a whole new level.  In fact, this is the second batch; I liked it so much, I wanted to enjoy a plate, tonight, too.  Thank you, Melinda!

Smothered Cabbage and Apples Printer friendly recipe
1 cabbage, sliced thinly (my cabbage weighed 3 lbs)
1 cup thinly sliced onion
2 Granny Smith apples, sliced thinly
1 tsp garlic, minced
1/8 tsp caraway
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/2 cup water
1/2 tsp salt, divided
1/4 tsp black pepper

In a large skillet, heat extra virgin olive oil over medium-high heat.  Add onions and apples, and cook until softened and golden brown, about 5 minutes.  Add garlic and caraway seeds, and cook for another 2 minutes.  Add half of the sliced cabbage, and sprinkle with half of the salt and pepper.  Cook for 5 minutes, until cabbage starts to wilt.  Add remaining cabbage, water, butter, salt, and pepper.  After butter has melted, lower heat to medium, cover, and cook until the water has evaporated, 8 -10 minutes.  Uncover, and increase the heat to medium-high and cook until cabbage carmelizes.  I like a really dark carmelization, so I cooked it on high for another 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
Enjoy!  

Leave a Reply

