Green Beans and Fingerling Potatoes

For dinner Wednesday night, I served stuffed pasta shells with marinara sauce. Usually I make a salad to accompany an Italian pasta dish, but in my haste, I neglected totally forgot to buy lettuce when I did the weekly shopping. So, no lettuce, no salad. Mentally, I began going through the litany of green vegetables that reside in the vast tundra of my freezer. Broccoli? Yes, but the husband wouldn’t eat it. Spinach? Well, it was in there, and the husband would eat it, but only if I made spinach-artichoke dip, which was not going to happen. Turnip greens – hah! What was I thinking? Momentary lapse of lucidity. Green beans? Yes! And, the husband not only eats green beans, but also likes them. Let me qualify that, he likes them smothered; however, I was in no mood to deal with the aftermath of frying bacon. But, there’s always my vegetarian version, which I make with or without potatoes. It just so happened, however, that I had 2 bags of fingerling potatoes in my pantry, one of which needed to be cooked soon. So the decision was made; we would have smothered green beans and fingerling potatoes. I used frozen green beans, which are fine, but when fresh are available, you will be in for a real treat! For the record, the husband did not eat the green beans…

Smothered Green Beans and Fingerling Potatoes

1 lb fresh or frozen green beans, whole, not cut
1 lb red or white fingerling potatoes
1 medium onion, diced
4 garlic cloves, finely chopped
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
1 tsp sugar
2 tsp salt
Water

Slice fingerling potatoes in half and place into a large saucepan. Fill pan with water, covering the potatoes. Add the salt and sugar to the water. Bring to a boil and cook for 5 minutes. Add green beans and boil for an additional 5 minutes. Drain and set aside. (Do not reserve water)

Over medium-high heat and in the same saucepan, combine extra virgin olive oil and 1 tablespoon unsalted butter and allow butter to melt. Add onion and garlic to oil/butter mixture. Saute until onions have started to lightly brown. Return green beans and potatoes to the pan, along with 1-cup water. Simmer, partially covered, on medium-low heat until most of the water has evaporated and potatoes are tender, about 10-15 minutes.

Enjoy!
Printer friendly recipe

Recipe for stuffed pasta shells with marinara coming soon…

2 thoughts on “Green Beans and Fingerling Potatoes

Leave a Reply

