Cinnamon Sugar Donut Muffins

The cake donut has always been my favorite, particularly the cinnamon-sugar cake donut. My husband is also a big fan of the cake donut. And, while I do indulge my husband, I’ve only fried donuts twice in the last 9 years. So, when reading Confections of a Closet Master Baker, the Golden Eggs recipe immediately caught my attention. A cake that tasted like a donut? No frying? Cinnamon sugar?  I dashed into the kitchen and whipped up a batch as soon as I finished the chapter, baking them in my mini-bundt pan. What can I say?  We were smitten. At the time, I wasn’t blogging, so there is no picture of that first venture. But, in the past few weeks, I’ve read quite a few posts on the donut muffin, which prompted me to a bake a batch in the mini-muffin pan. I actually prefer them as mini-muffins, as the process is quicker, the end result is much cuter, and most importantly, you can eat more than one!
Cinnamon Sugar Donut Muffins Printable recipe
3 cups flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon nutmeg, freshly grated
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
2 cups sugar
5 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon Fiori di Sicilia
1 1/4 cup buttermilk

Dipping mixture
1 cup unsalted butter
1 cup sugar
2 tablespoons cinnamon (yes, that’s alot, but we LOVE cinnamon, you may want to use less)
Melt the butter while muffins are cooling, set aside.  Combine the sugar and cinnamon in a separate bowl; set aside.
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
Butter or spray a mini-muffin or regular size muffin pan.
In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt, and nutmeg  (I avoid sifting at all costs, so I just give it a stir with a whisk).
With an electric mixer, whip butter, sugar, vanilla, and Fiori di Sicilia together until fluffy and a lovely light yellow – about 8 minutes.
Add the eggs one at a time.
Once eggs are incorporated, add 1 cup of the flour mixture, mix it in slightly, add 1/3 of the buttermilk, repeating until you’ve added all of the flour and buttermilk.
Using a small cookie scoop, distribute the batter into your mini-muffin pan.
Bake for 13-15 minutes, until a tester comes out clean.
Remove from oven, and let cool for 10 minutes and then invert onto a rack. 
Muffins should still be warm, but not too hot to hold.
Dip top of muffin into melted butter, dredge into cinnamon-sugar mixture, and then dip and dredge the muffin bottom. 
Serve warm and enjoy!
Source: adapted from Confections of a Master Baker by Gesine Bullock Prado
**This makes many mini-muffins.  After filling the mini pan, I poured the remaining batter into mini loaf pans and sprinkled them with powdered sugar – really yummy with sliced strawberries on top.**
2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Sugar Donut Muffins

Leave a Reply

