Crispy Roasted Garlic Potatoes

Who doesn’t love a homemade french fried potato?  Scrumdidlyumptious, aren’t they?  I remember when my mom made them, we’d sneak one or two as she fried them.  By the time we sat down to dinner, the platter of fries was vastly diminished, and we were all rather full.
Now, as the adult responsible for cleaning the kitchen, I’m not keen on frying potatoes.  When we were first married, my husband mentioned that his grandmother used to fry potatoes just for him, because they were one of his favorite foods.  If you recall, my husband is a selective eater, so his list of favorite foods is limited; actually, his list is woefully short compared to mine.  At any rate, as I said, we were newlyweds, so of course I fried him potatoes.  Afterwhich, of course, I had to mop the floor, or risk bodily harm, as I was gliding about the kitchen with little effort.  It was at that point I began my quest for an oven-baked french fry facsimile.  Years later, yes, years later, my quest ended with the April/May 2006 issue of Cook’s Country.  In this illustrious publication, I found the recipe for Crispy Roasted Garlic Potatoes.  I’ve found it to be very versatile; I’ve used red potatoes, fingerlings, and just this week I used russets.  Each time I’ve made these for guests, people clamor for the recipe.  I love this recipe because my husband says it’s his favorite way to eat potatoes….and, there’s no mopping required. 

Crispy Roasted Garlic Potatoes Printable recipe
2 lbs potatoes, russets-cut into french fry lengths, red potatoes-cut into 8 wedges, fingerlings-cut in half
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
3 tablespoons canola oil
1 tablespoon softened unsalted butter
1 large garlic clove, minced
1 teaspoon parsley, finely minced (optional, if your crew objects to green flecks)
1/8 teaspoon grated lemon zest

Adjust oven rack to upper middle position, place a large, rimmed baking sheet on rack and heat oven to 450 degrees. 
In a large bowl, toss potatoes, cornstarch, garlic powder, salt and pepper.
Once oven has reached 450 degrees, remove pan, carefully pour in oil, tilting pan to cover the entire pan.
Carefully add potatoes to pan and return to oven; roast for 30 minutes
While potatoes are in the oven, blend together the butter, garlic, lemon zest, and parsley, if using.  Set aside.
After the potatoes have roasted for 30 minutes, remove them from the oven, flip them over and return to the oven for an additional 15-20 minutes, or until potatoes are crispy and deep golden brown.
Remove from oven and toss potatoes in butter mixture.  Season with additonal salt and pepper, if desired.
Serve immediately.
Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Crispy Roasted Garlic Potatoes

  1. Pingback: Low-carb Baked Fries | Louanne's Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Loaded Cauliflower Casserole | Louanne's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

